CD Love Is the Song We Sing: San Francisco Nuggets 1965-1970 [Box] (CD 1144754),
back to browsing

Love Is the Song We Sing: San Francisco Nuggets 1965-1970 [Box]

  • 1. Let's Get Together - Dino Valenti
    2. I Feel Like I'm Fixin' to Die Rag - Country Joe & the Fish (EP version)
    3. You Were on My Mind - We Five
    4. Number One - The Charlatans
    5. Can't Come Down - The Warlocks
    6. Don't Talk to Strangers - The Beau Brummels
    7. Anything - The Vejtables
    8. It's No Secret - Jefferson Airplane
    9. Johnny Was a Good Boy - The Mystery Trend
    10. Free Advice - The Great Society
    11. Mr. Jones (A Ballad of a Thin Man) - The Grass Roots
    12. Stranger in a Strange Land - Blackburn & Snow
    13. Who Do You Love - Quicksilver Messenger Service
    14. She's My Baby - The Mojo Men
    15. Coffee Cup - The Wild Flowers
    16. Live Your Own Life - Family Tree
    17. Fat City - The Sons of Champlin
    18. Human Monkey - The Frantics
    19. Bye Bye Bye - The Tikis (Warner Brothers Single Version)
    20. Section 43 - Country Joe & the Fish
    21. Hello Hello - The Sopwith Camel
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Psychotic Reaction - The Count Five
    2. Got Love - Front Line
    3. Satisfaction Guaranteed - The Mourning Reign
    4. Foolish Woman - Oxford Circle
    5. My Buddy Sin - Stained Glass
    6. Streetcar - The Otherside
    7. Suzy Creamcheese - Teddy & His Patches
    8. Rubiyat - The Immediate Family
    9. Rumors - The Syndicate of Sound
    10. Sometimes I Wonder - The Harbinger Complex
    11. Want Ad Reader - The New Breed
    12. I'm a Good Woman - Generation
    13. No Way Out - The Chocolate Watchband
    14. Hey I'm Lost - Butch Engle
    15. I Love You - People
    16. America - Public Nuisance
    17. Fly to New York - Country Weather
    18. Thing in "E" - Savage Resurrection
    19. Hearts to Cry - Frumious Bandersnatch
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Alabama Bound - The Charlatans
    2. Carl Street - The Mystery Trend
    3. Somebody to Love - The Great Society (LP version)
    4. Superbird - Country Joe & the Fish
    5. Two Days 'Til Tomorrow - The Beau Brummels
    6. Omaha - Moby Grape
    7. Up & Down - Serpent Power
    8. Golden Road, The (To Unlimited Devotion) - Grateful Dead
    9. Codine - Quicksilver Messenger Service
    10. Down on Me - Big Brother & the Holding Company (live)
    11. Think Twice - Salvation
    12. White Rabbit - Jefferson Airplane
    13. Roll With It - Steve Miller Band
    14. Why Did You Put Me On - Notes from the Underground
    15. Underdog - Sly & the Family Stone
    16. Summertime Blues - Blue Cheer
    17. Glue - Ace of Cups
    18. Soul Sacrifice - Santana
    19. Bells, The - The Loading Zone
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Evil Ways - Santana
    2. Red the Sign Post - Fifty Foot Hose
    3. Lemonaide Kid - Kak
    4. 1982-A - The Sons of Champlin
    5. How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away - Dan Hicks & His Hot Licks
    6. Amphetamine Gazelle - Mad River
    7. Quicksilver Girl - Steve Miller Band
    8. Revolution - Mother Earth
    9. Murder in My Heart For the Judge - Moby Grape
    10. Light Your Windows - Quicksilver Messenger Service
    11. I'm Drowning - The Flamin' Groovies
    12. Portrait of the Artist as a Young Lady - Seatrain
    13. White Bird - It's a Beautiful Day
    14. Dark Star - Grateful Dead (Single Version)
    15. Fool - Blue Cheer (Single Version)
    16. Mexico - Jefferson Airplane
    17. Mercedes Benz - Janis Joplin
    18. Get Together - The Youngbloods
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 165564

  • Credits
    ProducerAlec Palao (Compilation)

    Liner Note Authors: Ben Fong-Torres; Gene Sculatti.
    As the fourth Nuggets box from Rhino, LOVE IS THE SONG WE SING: SAN FRANCISCO FRANCISCO 1965-1970 is easily the most specific and idiosyncratic yet, a set devoted to a time and a place: namely the Bay Area that sowed the seeds of the Summer of Love in 1967. Released in conjunction with that 40th anniversary, LOVE IS THE SONG WE SING is surely a time capsule, but it may not be as much interest to those who lived through it as those who pine for the glory days of free love, hippies, and psychedelia. No less of an authority than legendary rock critic Greil Marcus noted in his Interview magazine review that many of these bands are obscure to him -- and he lived through the time, in the Bay Area, so he should know. Chances are the average listener looking for a heavy dose of nostalgia will also find LOVE IS THE SONG rather overwhelming in its reliance on momentary sensations and obscurities, but that's kind of the point of all the Nuggets sets: to dig way deeper than the surface and find the best of its chosen subculture. Fans of Nuggets know this, but the odd thing is that they may not be entirely satisfied with this set either, as it deviates from the Nuggets formula in a couple of crucial ways. First, there are some genuinely huge songs by genuinely huge bands -- like Jefferson Airplane's "White Rabbit," Country Joe & the Fish's "I Feel Like I'm Fixing to Die Rag," Blue Cheer's "Summertime Blues," and Santana's "Evil Ways" -- a few more marquee names than normal (including the Grateful Dead, Steve Miller Band, Janis Joplin, Sly & the Family Stone, and Moby Grape), and bands are occasionally repeated, but the biggest musical difference is that this is a decided shift away from the wild, wooly guitar rock of the previous Nuggets, lacking both the raw garage and hard, swirling psychedelia that has been the hallmark of the series. Instead, LOVE IS THE SONG WE SING is firmly within the camp of the hippies, documenting their rise, their peak, and softly disguising their fall by ending the set in 1970, when the Summer of Love was still echoing strongly but just beginning to fade.
    This set takes its time to get to 1967, as that legendary summer doesn't roll around until disc three, but the pace never seems leisurely, as the first two discs document how that summer came to be, beginning with Dino Valenti's "Let's Get Together" (which provides the chorus to the Youngbloods' "Get Together," the '60s standard that closes the set), then winds its way through a lot of folk-rock before tougher, bluesier, trippier sounds work their way into the mix toward the beginning of the second disc. Just like the hippies, LOVE never really abandons these folkie beginnings and that communal vibe is always present even as soul, jazz, bluegrass, blues, and avant-garde bubble toward the surface. Ultimately, it's best to view this box set as a document of the era of the hippies, a piece of pop culture anthropology that might not be perfect but there is no comparable compilation to this, no other set that has the same scope or ambition.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.81) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The reckless joy of the acid-garage tumult and utopian dreaming on these four CDs proves once and for all that San Francisco, in the second half of the Sixties, was the most exciting rock & roll city in America..."
    Dirty Linen (pp.55-56) - "[T]his is a wonderful tutorial for those who missed the golden age of Bay Area rock, and a memory-filled souvenir for folks who were there."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $57.21
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for