CD Made in England [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster] (CD 1220778),
back to browsing

Made in England [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]

  • 1. Time Take My Life
    2. Stand by Me
    3. Little Bit of Inner Air
    4. Don't Know What Went Wrong
    5. Never to Lose
    6. Introduction/Breathless
    7. Space Cowboy
    8. People You Can't Trust
    9. All in Satans Name Close Your Eyes
    10. Close Your Eyes
    11. Stand by Me
    12. Breakthrough
    13. Save Me
    14. Close Your Eye
    15. Stand by Me - (live)
    16. People You Can't Trust - (live)
    17. All in Satan's Name - (live)
    18. Devil's Answer - (live)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 927

  • Credits

    The Akarma Records 2003 reissue of MADE IN ENGLAND includes bonus tracks.
    Atomic Rooster: Chris Farlowe (vocals); Steve Bolton (guitar); Vincent Crane (keyboards); Rick Parnell (drums).
    MADE IN ENGLAND presents the prog/hard rock group Atomic Rooster live and in BBC sessions.
    This UK edition includes 8 bonus tracks.
    Recording information: Paris Theatre (07/27/1972).
    The third incarnation of English prog rockers, Atomic Rooster make their debut on Made in England (1972). The group began as a trio featuring former Crazy World of Arthur Brown member Vincent Crane (organ), Nick Graham (bass), and Carl Palmer (drums). After a few significant shuffles within the lineup, only Crane continued with the name, recruiting Colosseum co-founder and Mick Jagger protg Chris Farlowe (vocals), and Ric Parnell (percussion) and Steve Bolton (guitars) as the next generation. They have an edgy and somewhat brooding sound, recalling early Mott the Hoople discs such as the highly underrated Mad Shadows (1970). Much of the material reveals the quartet's slightly funky groove, such as the pulsating "Stand by Me," or the gospel-inflection on the spoken "Introduction," which prefaces the Crane instrumental "Breathless." Somewhat misplaced is the orchestration -- especially on "Time Take My Life" -- which tends to congest the otherwise driving arrangement. Parnell penned a pair of the finest contributions on Made in England, the slinky "Little Bit of Inner Air," as well as the Southern rock tinged "All in Satan's Name." The latter comes off like a blend of the Allman Brothers and Deep Purple. Bolton supplies the power ballad "Never to Lose," as well as "Space Cowboy," which develops into an electric hoedown following a somewhat off-balance and synth-heavy keyboard intro. Bolton would be the next casualty of the combo, leading to the formation of the criminally underrated Headstone. A successful North American tour resulted in Made in England, which charted briefly in the U.S., and would be the final Atomic Rooster album to do so. The band would successfully continue under Crane's tutelage until the early '80s, when he joined up with a post-"Come on Eileen" Dexy's Midnight Runners. ~ Lindsay Planer

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $22.99
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for