CD Match of the Day: The Album [Box] (CD 4665092),
back to browsing

Match of the Day: The Album [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Best of You - Foo Fighters
    2. Supersonic - Oasis
    3. Somebody Told Me - The Killers
    4. Time To Pretend - MGMT
    5. Waterfall - The Stone Roses
    6. Geraldine - Glasvegas
    7. Breakeven - The Script
    8. We'll Live and Die In These Towns - Enemy
    9. Living For the Weekend - Hard-Fi
    10. Standing In the Way of Control - The Gossip
    11. Gangsters - The Specials
    12. Do You Remember the First Time? - Pulp
    13. Rock the Casbah - The Clash
    14. Why Does It Always Rain On Me? - Travis
    15. Valerie - The Zutons
    16. Pass It On - The Coral
    17. Same Jeans - The View
    18. Ashes - Embrace
    19. All Together Now - The Farm
    20. Three Lions '98 - Frank Skinner/David Baddiel/The Lightning Seeds
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Underdog - Kasabian
    2. Design For Life, A - Manic Street Preachers
    3. Black and White Town [Michael Brauer Mix] - Doves (remix)
    4. That's Not My Name - The Ting Tings
    5. Come Together - Primal Scream
    6. Shake It - Metro Station
    7. Worried About Ray - The Hoosiers
    8. Wires - Athlete
    9. Take Me Out - Franz Ferdinand
    10. Blood - Editors
    11. Buck Rogers - Feeder
    12. Strange Town - The Jam
    13. Another Girl Another Planet - The Only Ones
    14. Always the Sun - The Stranglers
    15. Teenage Kicks - The Undertones
    16. All the Young Dudes - Mott the Hoople
    17. Boys Are Back In Town, The - Thin Lizzy
    18. Rockstar - Nickelback
    19. Life of Riley - The Lightning Seeds
    20. World In Motion - New Order
    1. 100 Premiere League Goals
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 536702

  • Credits

    Packed full of stirring indie pop anthems, Match of the Day: The Album is the first release to coincide with the hugely successful football highlights program. Unlike many TV compilation tie-ins, the music featured is actually relevant to the show, with the majority of tracks having been used to accompany various title sequences and clips packages. Indeed, the likes of Lightning Seeds' "Life of Riley," Embrace's "Ashes," and Doves' "Black and White Town" have since become synonymous with breathtaking winning goals or world-class saves. Attempting to cover the whole spectrum of the beautiful game, Match of the Day is undoubtedly a compilation of two halves. The pulsating garage rock of the Gossip's "Standing in the Way of Control," Hard-Fi's thumping "Living for the Weekend," and Manic Street Preachers' string-laden epic "A Design for Life" all manage to capture the thrill and excitement of the U.K.'s number one sport. However, Athlete's somber piano-led "Wires," Travis' melancholic "Why Does It Always Rain on Me," and Glasvegas' haunting "Geraldine" appear to soundtrack the despair and disappointment most football fans feel, resulting in a strangely roller coaster listening experience. Considering the reputation of the football song genre, it's a wise decision to include just two of its most successful offerings. Lightning Seeds' "Three Lions" has become an alternative national anthem at England games thanks to its Brit-pop sound, optimistic lyrics, and singalong chorus, while New Order's dance-influenced "World in Motion," despite the John Barnes rap, still remains the greatest football song ever. With such a wide range of viewers, it's no surprise that the noughties-heavy first disc makes way for a more retro-sounding second, with Mott the Hoople's classic "All the Young Dudes," Undertones' anthemic "Teenage Kicks," and Primal Scream's gospel-tinged "Come Together" the highlights. But it's hard to see where the emo-pop of Metro Station's "Shake It" or Pulp's "Do You Remember the First Time" fits in with the theme of the album, while the overplayed likes of Nickelback's "Rock Star" and Ting Tings' "That's Not My Name" show a distinct lack of imagination. Overall, Match of the Day is a competent addition to the football compilation market. But with a track list that could have been pulled from any commercial rock radio station, it feels more like a safe mid-table also-ran than an exciting title chaser. ~ Jon O'Brien

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $30.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for