CD Mick Abrahams (CD 1299169),
back to browsing

Mick Abrahams

  • 1. Greyhound Bus
    2. Awake
    3. Winds of Change
    4. Why Do You Do Me This Way
    5. Big Queen
    6. Not to Rearrange
    7. Seasons
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 95

  • Credits
    ProducerChris Thomas
    EngineerJohn Punter

    Personnel: Mick Abrahams (vocals, guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar, mandolin); Bob Sargeant (vocals, guitar, piano, organ, keyboards); Walt Monaghan (vocals, bass guitar); Ritchie Dharma (drums, congas, percussion).
    Recording information: AIR London Studios, London, England.
    Unknown Contributor Role: Alex Harding.
    Mick Abrahams' first formal solo album is more focused on blues and blues-rock, and far less on jazz, than his work with Blodwyn Pig, and is a better record for it. For first-time listeners, much of this record will recall Clapton's first post-Cream solo LP, Eric Clapton, in its generally laid-back sound and the presence of a fairly strong country blues influence. Abrahams' vocals here are a little more mournful than soulful -- his playing (especially when he picks up an acoustic guitar) is up to his usual standard, however, and Ritchie Dharma's drumming is dizzying in its speed and complexity. Much of the material is substandard, however, and one number in particular, "Seasons," is especially annoying -- evidently Abrahams couldn't decide whether he wanted to invade Yes territory (especially Steve Howe's solo noodlings) or the Allman Brothers' turf on this 15-minute extended track (which, as a piece of psychedelia, is several years late), which ultimately goes nowhere. "Winds of Change," an unassuming four-minute acoustic blues, is far more to the point. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.52
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for