CD Music/Fantasy (CD 1234713),
back to browsing


  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Brother, Brother
    2. It's Going to Take Some Time
    3. Sweet Seasons
    4. Some Kind of Wonderful
    5. Surely
    6. Carry Your Load
    7. Music
    8. Song of Long Ago
    9. Brighter
    10. Growing Away from Me
    11. Too Much Rain
    12. Back to California
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Fantasy Beginning
    2. You've Been Around Too Long
    3. Being at War With Each Other
    4. Directions
    5. That's How Things Go Down
    6. Weekdays
    7. Haywood
    8. Quiet Place to Live, A
    9. Welfare Symphony
    10. You Light Up My Life
    11. Corazn - (Spanish)
    12. Believe in Humanity
    13. Fantasy End
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 508763

  • Credits
    ProducerLou Adler
    EngineerHank Cicalo

    This digitally remastered release of two early 1970s releases by Carole King includes "Brother, Brother" and "Some Kind Of Wonderful."
    Personnel: Carole King (piano, celesta, electric piano, keyboards, background vocals); David T. Walker (guitar); Danny Kortchmar (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); James Taylor (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Ken Yerke, Ronald Folsom, Glenn Dicterow, Robert Lipsett, Kathleen Lenski , Sheldon Sanov, Barry Socher, Gordon Marron Strings, Miwako Watanabe, Polly Sweeney, Haim Shtrum (violin); David Campbell , Alan DeVeritch, Paul Polivinick, Denyse Buffum (viola); Dennis Karmazyn, Jeffrey Solow, Judith Perett (cello); Mike Altschul, Ernie Watts, Plas Johnson , William Green (flute, woodwinds, saxophone); Curtis Amy (flute, saxophone, tenor saxophone); Tom Scott (saxophone); Chuck Findley, Al Aarons, Ollie Mitchell (trumpet, flugelhorn); Oscar Brashear (flugelhorn); George Bohanon (trombone, euphonium); Charles Loper (trombone); Ralph Schuckett (celesta, electric piano, organ, keyboards); Harvey Mason, Sr. (vibraphone, drums, percussion); Charles Larkey (acoustic bass, electric bass, drums); Joel O'Brien, Russ Kunkel (drums); Bobbye Hall (congas, bongos, tambourine); Theresa Colderon (congas, percussion); Abigale Haness, Merry Clayton (background vocals).
    Director: Chuck Beeson.
    Illustrator: Drew Struzan.
    Photographer: Jim McCrary.
    Arranger: Carole King.
    This is a handy double-CD set from England, containing Carole King's third and fifth solo albums, which originally appeared on Ode Records in America and A&M Records and Epic Records in England. They haven't upgraded the sound in any significant way (that privilege seems reserved for Tapestry), but the sound is still more than passable, and the pairing does capture two diverse sides of King's solo work. Music was an extraordinarily good album, quite unexpectedly a match for Tapestry, and had it not followed that album it could just as easily have defined King's career and solo persona; but it never enjoyed the earlier album's mystique or mega-sales; Fantasy had a much more lush, produced sound, rooted in soul music to a surprising degree and also offering more prominent instrumental work than any record since her solo debut, Writer. Together they sum up some of the highlights of her post-Tapestry career and her later history on Ode Records, and a time when King seemed to own an obligatory place in every record collection. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.02
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for