CD Never Ever Land: 83 Texan Nuggets from International Artists Records [Box] (CD 1313491),
back to browsing

Never Ever Land: 83 Texan Nuggets from International Artists Records [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I Want My Woman - The Emperors
    2. Alright - The Coastliners
    3. You're Gonna Miss Me - The 13th Floor Elevators
    4. Rejected - Sterling Damon
    5. Wonderful You - The Coastliners
    6. Dominoes - Thursday's Children
    7. I Tried So Hard - The Chaparrels
    8. See It Thru - Chayns
    9. In My Own Time - The Patterns
    10. Live With The Moon - Chayns
    11. Night Time (Is The Right Time) - Chayns
    12. Part Of You, A - Thursday's Children
    13. Fire Engine - The 13th Floor Elevators
    14. Air Conditioned Man - Thursday's Children
    15. 25 MPH - Lost And Found
    16. There's Something Wrong (In This Place) - Chayns
    17. Help, Murder, Police - Thursday's Children
    18. Reaching Out To You - The Golden Dawn
    19. You Can Forget About That - Thursday's Children
    20. Tried To Hide - The 13th Floor Elevators
    21. Nice Surprise, A - The Golden Dawn
    22. Pink Stainless Tail - The Red Crayola
    23. Communication Breakdown - Inner Scene
    24. Let Me Be - Lost And Found
    25. We Sell Soul - The Spades
    26. You're Gonna Miss Me - The Spades
    27. I Don't Ever Want To Come Down - The 13th Floor Elevators
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Hot Smoke And Sasafrass - Bubble Puppy
    2. Starvation - The Golden Dawn
    3. Scarlet And Gold - The 13th Floor Elevators
    4. Everybody's Here - Lost And Found
    5. War Sucks - The Red Crayola
    6. Never Ever land - The Rubayyat
    7. Search The Sun - The Shayds
    8. My Time - The Golden Dawn
    9. Slip Inside This House - The 13th Floor Elevators
    10. When Will You Come Through - Lost And Found
    11. Tell Me One More Time (What's Happening To Our World) - Endle St. Cloud
    12. If I Had A Reason - Bubble Puppy
    13. Ginger - Ginger Valley
    14. If I Were A Carpenter - The Rubayyat
    15. Days Of Our Time - Bubble Puppy
    16. Professor Black - Lost And Found
    17. Quest For Beauty - Endle St. Cloud
    18. Gathering Of Promises, A - Bubble Puppy
    19. Forever lasting Plastic Words - Lost And Found
    20. She Lives In A Time Of Her Own - The 13th Floor Elevators
    21. Nickle Niceness [Demo] - The Red Crayola
    22. Hurricane Fighter Plane - The Red Crayola
    23. Come Through - Endle St. Cloud
    24. Country Life - Ginger Valley
    25. This Is Love - Endle St. Cloud
    26. Vil Vile Grass [Demo] - The Red Crayola
    27. 60-Second Radio Spot - The 13th Floor Elevators
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Pepperman - Arnim & Hamilton
    2. Times Gone By - Disciples of Shaftesbury
    3. Popcorn Popper - Beauregarde
    4. Breakfast In Bed - Big Walter
    5. Black Ghost - Lightnin' Hopkins
    6. Mama Never Taught Me How To Jelly Roll - Beauregarde
    7. Terp - Dave Allen
    8. Hurry Sundown - Bubble Puppy
    9. My Cup Is Full - Disciples of Shaftesbury
    10. Little Girl Called Sad - Kathy Clarke
    11. Baby Child - Lightnin' Hopkins
    12. Bring Your Love - The Shayds
    13. Walkin' Midnight Coffee Break - Arnim & Hamilton
    14. Splash - Roky Erickson/Clementine Hall
    15. Right Track now - Roky Erickson/Clementine Hall
    16. Trouble's Coming On - Billy Wade McKnight
    17. My Summer Prayer - Kathy Clarke
    18. I Need Your Lovin' - Billy Wade McKnight
    19. Mini Skirt - Lightnin' Hopkins
    20. C.C. Rider - Dave Allen
    21. Lonely - Bubble Puppy
    22. Poor Planet Earth - Sonny Hall
    23. So Ah In Ah Love - Tom Harvey
    24. Honey Child - Johnny Williams
    25. Sweet Thang - Frankie & Johnny
    26. Battle Of The Moon, The - Sonny Hall
    27. My Last Letter - Sterling Damon
    28. Interview At KSAN Radio - Roky Erickson
    29. May The Circle Remain Unbroken - The 13th Floor Elevators
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SNAJ 735 CD

  • Credits

    It's not unusual for a small independent record company to be defined by its first major success, and that was certainly the case for the maverick Texas label International Artists. IA began life in 1965 as a fairly ordinary regional outfit releasing pop/rock stuff, but when they scored a nationwide hit with the 13th Floor Elevators' proto-psychedelic anthem "You're Gonna Miss Me," the label's de facto A&R chief, Lelan Rogers, dove headfirst into Texas acid culture and IA became a home for consciousness-expanded acts such as the Golden Dawn, the Bubble Puppy, Endle St. Cloud, and the truly crazed Red Crayola. Never Ever Land is a three-CD set designed to give a reasonably comprehensive picture of International Artists' strange and memorable five-year lifespan. Disc one is focused on Texas garage rock, and features some of the fuzzier and more straightforward material from the 13th Floor Elevators, the Red Crayola, and the Golden Dawn alongside lesser-known teen rock acts such as the Beach Boys-influenced Coastliners and the frantic Chayns. Disc two is devoted to IA's psychedelic acts, though since several already popped up on disc one the distinction may seem vague to some; at any rate, while most of this music isn't as eccentric as AI's reputation would suggest, this is still a solid set of acid-influenced rock, ranging from the tight hard rock of the Bubble Puppy and the earnest folk-rock of the Rubayyat to the country-flavored sounds of Ginger Valley and the brilliantly "huh?"-inducing sides from the Red Crayola. Finally, the third disc rounds up various odd and ends, from the sublime (two superb acoustic tracks from Roky Erickson with Clementine Hall) and the worthy (a couple selections from Lightnin' Hopkins' IA set Free Form Patterns) to the ridiculous (Sonny Hall's dunderheaded country novelty "The Battle of the Moon"). The set is accompanied by a thick booklet featuring a short history of the label, an entertaining interview with Lelan Rogers, and an AI discography. Never Ever Land reveals the dirty little secret that much of International Artists' output wasn't as bizarre as their most famous releases would lead you to expect, but the first two discs serve as an excellent overview of the heady era when teenage rock gave way to something more adventurous, and the third delivers some superb moments while filling in the gaps in the IA story; it's a loving tribute to a label whose existence was in many respects a brave leap into the musical unknown. ~ Mark Deming

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.92
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for