CD New Blood [Peter Gabriel] [CD] [1 disc] [884108000403] (CD 15791922),
back to browsing

New Blood [Peter Gabriel] [CD] [1 disc] [884108000403]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): PGCDXCA 13

  • Credits

    Almost every one of Peter Gabriel's best-laid plans winds up going awry, and so it was with Scratch My Back, his 2010 collection of orchestral covers of some of his favorite songs. He had hoped to have the artists he covered return the favor by interpreting his songs but that project never got off the ground, so he pursued New Blood, an album where he turned that orchestra upon his own songs. New Blood is in every way a companion piece to Scratch My Back; it's cut from the same aesthetic cloth, it's austere and cerebral without being chilly, it finds emotion within intellect. Some songs aren't considerably different tonally than the original versions -- this is particularly true of the So material, with "Mercy Street" and "Red Rain" seeming no different in their transition from Synclavier to symphony -- but the ones that are heavily reworked, such as "San Jacinto" and "Intruder," are startling, rearrangements that seem to give the songs a new set of bones. New Blood isn't always as astonishing but that's fine: the faithful adherence to melody on "Don't Give Up" and "In Your Eyes" functions as something of a palate cleanser, and even when the album isn't risky it's always quietly absorbing. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Magnet (p.55) - "[O]n NEW BLOOD he reinvigorates and recreates -- rather than retreads -- selections from throughout his solo career."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.101) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "['Intruder'] carries a menace redolent of Bernard Herrmann's Hitchcock scores..."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.94) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "A joyous 'In Your Eyes' and the five minutes of ambient noise recorded on top of 'Solsbury Hill' before the song itself make this a rather memorable experience."
    Uncut (magazine) (p.82) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "NEW BLOOD manages to eke new truths from old lyrics....The bulk of this album is motivated more by art than nostalgia."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.64
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for