CD Nightcap: The Unreleased Masters 1973-1991 (CD 952486),
back to browsing

Nightcap: The Unreleased Masters 1973-1991

    1. First Post
    2. Animelee
    3. Tiger Toon
    4. Look at the Animals
    5. Law of the Bungle
    6. Law of the Bungle, Pt. 2
    7. Left Right
    8. Solitaire
    9. Critique Oblique
    10. Post Last
    11. Scenario
    12. Audition
    13. No Rehearsal
    1. Paradise Steakhouse
    2. Sealion II
    3. Piece of Cake
    4. Quartet
    5. Silver River Turning
    6. Crew Nights
    7. Curse, The
    8. Rosa on the Factory Floor
    9. Small Cigar, A
    10. Man of Principle
    11. Commons Brawl
    12. No Step
    13. Drive on the Young Side of Life
    14. I Don't Want to Be Me
    15. Broadford Bazaar
    16. Lights Out
    17. Truck Stop Runner
    18. Hard Liner
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 28157

  • Credits
    ProducerIan Anderson

    Personnel: Ian Anderson (vocals, acoustic guitar, mandolin, flute, fife, tin whistle, keyboards); Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond (vocals, acoustic & electric basses); Martin Barre (electric guitar); Dave Pegg (mandolin, bass); John Evan (piano accordion, piano, Hammond B-3 organ, synthesizer); John Bundrick (piano, Hammond B-3 organ); David Palmer, Peter Vettese (keyboards); Matthew Pegg (bass); Doane Perry, Barriemore Barlow, Gerry Conway (drums).
    Includes liner notes by Ian Anderson.
    Personnel: Ian Anderson (vocals, acoustic guitar, mandolin, flute, fife, tin whistle, keyboards); Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond (vocals, upright bass); Martin Barre (electric guitar); Dave Pegg (mandolin); John Evan (piano, synthesizer); John "Rabbit" Bundrick (piano); David Palmer , Peter-John Vettese (keyboards); Gerry Conway, Barriemore Barlow, Doane Perry (snare drum).
    Liner Note Author: Ian Anderson .
    Recording information: Chateau D'Isaster, France (1973).
    In 1973, Ian Anderson and his Jethro Tull bandmates retired to a Parisian chateau to work on material for a new album. Though the band managed to record hours of material, the project was ultimately abandoned, leaving the music, known in Jethro Tull lore as the "Chateau D'isaster Tapes" to sit unreleased. Two decades later, at the behest of the group's rabid fans, Ian Anderson finally released Chateau D'isaster's 13 most complete tracks, coupling them with a handful of rare and unreleased career-spanning cuts on the double-disc NIGHTCAP.
    The primarily instrumental Chateau D'isaster Tapes are largely what one would expect from Jethro Tull material of this vintage, with a few pleasant surprises. Anderson's proclivity toward writing songs about wildlife is given full flower on "Look at the Animals," a track in which the power-flautist casts an ant as the protagonist in a hostile world of crows, cats, and kangaroos. Another highlight is the somewhat anomalous "Left Right," in which the swarming, electrified gurgling, cooing, and laughing of infants gives way to an anthemic guitar workout. The unreleased cuts on the set's second disc are uniformly strong, with highlights including the technically indomitable "Paradise Steakhouse" and "Crew Nights."

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.25
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for