CD Nonstoperotik [Digipak] (CD 6301059),
back to browsing

Nonstoperotik [Digipak]

  • 1. Lake of Sin
    2. O My Tidy Sum
    3. Rabbits
    4. Wheels
    5. Dead Man's Curve
    6. Corrina
    7. Six Legged Man
    8. Wild Son
    9. When I Go Down on You
    10. Nonstoperotik
    11. Cinema Star
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 513

  • Credits
    ProducerEric Drew Feldman; Black Francis
    EngineerWesley Siedman; Howard Bullivant

    Audio Mixer: Howard Bullivant.
    Recording information: Ocean Way Studios, Los Angeles; RAK Studios, London; Studio G, Brooklyn.
    Photographer: Aaron Lucy.
    An album of Black Francis songs inspired by sex might seem unexpected, but it's never been a taboo topic in his music. Many of the Pixies' best songs dealt with knowing someone in the biblical sense --literally, in the case of "Dead" and "Nimrod's Son," to name just two. It's a given that an album of erotic songs by Black Francis won't be the same as one by, say, Barry White, but even by Francis' own standards, NonStopErotik deals with its subject matter as elliptically as possible. Rabbits, ferns, and other natural fertility motifs pepper these songs, most of which are reveries inspired by love and sensuality rather than anything raunchy. "Lake of Sin"'s title is the most risqu thing about it; "Nonstoperotik" is more romantic than erotic, with a sweet melody and limpid guitar solo that recalls "You Look Wonderful Tonight," and "When I Go Down on You" plays like a hymn to intimacy rather than a mating call. Though "Six Legged Man" is a typical but well-done rave-up and "Wild Son" once again connects sex and religion to trippy effect, NonStopErotik does have moments where it rises above expectations. With strings, saxophone, and falsetto vocals, "Rabbits" is about as close to a quiet storm ballad as Francis is likely to get, while "Cinema Star" saves the best for last, delivering a hypnotic rocker that sounds more like Sonic Youth than Francis' work with the Pixies or his solo career. NonStopErotik feels intimate in a way that proves he can still find daring territory going into the third decade of his career. ~ Heather Phares

  • Critic Reviews
    Alternative Press (pp.102-105) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[H]e's rarely assembled a stronger collection of songs, from the ominous post-punk power surge of 'Lake Of Sin' to 'Dead Man's Curve,' which features his best howling in years."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.102) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "NONSTOPEROTIK finds him in rockin' form -- more Hold Steady than SURFER ROSA, perhaps, but way more invigorated than in his '90s Frank Black wilderness years."
    Pitchfork (Website) - "'Six Legged Man' feels like it comes from the same place as TROMPE LE MONDE...'O My Tidy Sum' hits a similarly comforting sweet spot."
    Clash (magazine) - "Opener 'Lake Of Sin' growls with primal menace like its 1988 all over again, while both 'Six Legged Man' and 'Corrina' are scuzzy, head-pummelling beasts."
    Uncut (magazine) (p.85) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[A] handful of tracks here (particularly 'Oh My Tidy Sum) are creepily sensual."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.95
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for