CD Old Records Never Die: The Mott the Hoople/Ian Hunter Anthology (CD 1313862),
back to browsing

Old Records Never Die: The Mott the Hoople/Ian Hunter Anthology

    1. Rock and Roll Queen
    2. Walkin' with a Mountain
    3. Whisky Women
    4. Sweet Angeline
    5. Death May Be Your Santa Claus
    6. All the Young Dudes
    7. Sweet Jane
    8. Sucker
    9. All the Way from Memphis
    10. Honaloochie Boogie
    11. Violence
    12. Ballad of Mott the Hoople (26th March 1972, Zrich)
    13. Roll Away the Stone
    14. Crash Street Kidds
    15. Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll, The
    16. Saturday Gigs
    0. DISC 2: IAN HUNTER:
    1. Once Bitten Twice Shy
    2. Who Do You Love
    3. 3,000 Miles from Here
    4. You Nearly Did Me In
    5. Justice of the Peace
    6. Cleveland Rocks
    7. Just Another Night
    8. Ships
    9. When the Daylight Comes
    10. Old Records Never Die
    11. Central Park N' West
    12. Speechless
    13. Women's Intuition - (featuring Mick Ronson)
    14. Artful Dodger, The
    15. Still Love Rock and Roll
    16. Words (Big Mouth)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 8266631097

  • Credits
    ProducerJeff Palo; David McLees (Compilation)

    Personnel: Mick Ralphs, Ariel Bender (vocals, guitar); Ian Hunter (vocals, keyboards); Mick Ronson (guitar); Verden Allen (organ); Morgan Fisher (keyboards, synthesizer).
    Audio Remasterer: Mark Chalecki.
    Liner Note Author: Ben Edmonds.
    This two-disc set from Shout Factory collects 32 tracks by Mott the Hoople and the band's frontman Ian Hunter. A straight-ahead rock-&-roll band that garnered a solid cult following during its time together, Mott the Hoople's biggest contribution to rock history is certainly its version of David Bowie's "All the Young Dudes." The track, taken from the band's 1972 album of the same name, remains as stellar an anthem of youthful cool and rock-&-roll attitude as any ever committed to wax. The track appears on disc one alongside other Mott killers such as "All the Way to Memphis" and "Crash Street Kids."
    Disc two collects the finest moments from Hunter's lengthy solo career, the majority of which was spent in collaboration with Bowie guitarist Mick Ronson. Among disc two's standouts are "Once Bitten Twice Shy" (a hit for Great White in the late '80s), "Cleveland Rocks" (later the theme to THE DREW CARREY SHOW), and the bittersweet title track. Though neither Mott nor Hunter became true superstars, their brand of good-times glam-tinged rock & roll holds up remarkably well decades later.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.72) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Throughout this two-disc set's 38-year scope, Hunter unites opposing elements: primal hard rock, complex lyricism, quintessential Americana and a distinctly English bray."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.125) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith 16 smartly chosen tracks per disc both band and de facto leader are amply represented."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $24.19
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for