CD Opium for the People (CD 1098211),
back to browsing

Opium for the People

  • 1. You Can't Kill Me
    2. I've Bin Stone Before
    3. Squeezing Sponges Over Policeman's Heads
    4. Fohat Digs Holes in Space
    5. Tried So Hard
    6. Other Side of the Sky
    7. Sold to the Highest Buddha
    8. Prostitute Poem
    9. Givin' My Luve to You
    10. Percolations
    11. Love Is How You Make It
    12. Flying Teapot
    13. O My Photograph
    14. Hours Gone
    15. Strong Woman
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Preface
    2. Mich Too Old
    3. Black September
    4. Materialism
    5. I Am a Freud
    6. Thoughts for Naught
    7. A.P.H.P.'s Advice
    8. Sprinkling of Clauds, A
    9. Perfect Mystery
    10. Octave Doctors and the Crystal Machine, The
    11. Witch's Song I Am Your Pussy
    12. Psychological Overture
    13. Floatin' Anarchy
    14. Stoned Innocent Frankenstein
    15. Opium for the People
    16. Allez Ali Baba Blacksheep Have You Any Bullshit/Mama Maya Mantram
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2037

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Chris White .
    Opium for the People is a sprawling two-disc collection of the stranger-than-strange, weirdo world of Gong, the over-the-pond progenitors of genuinely ingenious music -- that in many ways is unclassifiable though it is more often than not lumped under the elitist prog rock moniker because of a particular phase in which the founding members had left the group -- and visionary absurdist humor. Encountering the Gong catalog for the first time is a daunting experience: there are over 30 recordings. That's what double-disc compilations like this are for. And this is a good one. It features tracks from most of their important -- read: perversely delightful -- albums such as Camembert Electrique, Flying Teapot, Angel's Egg, and You (these last three make up the now fabled Radio Gnome Invisible trilogy), as well as material from the Planet Gong's Floating Anarchy Live 77 album and 1980s Daevid Allen's New York Gong offering, About Time. Nothing is here from the Pierre Moerlen edition of the band, or from Gilli Smyth's wonderful Mother Gong project, but the essentials are all here and this is a fine overview for the money; you get a double dose of the magic that still is the singular Gong. Warning: chances are, after hearing this, you will end up spending more of your hard-earned cash purchasing some -- or all -- of the individual albums listed here. If so, offset that expense by doing something generating good karma and handing off your copy of this to some other curious,or even unsuspecting, soul. Besides, the handsome slipcase will look good on your shelf forever. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Rock
  • Label: Atom ATOM 2037
  • Distributor: MVD
  • Analog/Digital: n/a
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 883717400116
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.97
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for