CD Original Album Classics [Box] [Spirit] [CD Boxset] [5 discs] (CD 6985260),
back to browsing

Original Album Classics [Box] [Spirit] [CD Boxset] [5 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1: SPIRIT:
    1. Fresh-Garbage
    2. Uncle Jack
    3. Mechanical World
    4. Taurus
    5. Girl In Your Eye
    6. Straight Arrow
    7. Topanga Windows
    8. Gramophone Man
    9. Water Woman
    10. Great Canyon Fire In General, The
    11. Elijah
    12. Veruska
    13. Free Spirit
    14. If I Had A Woman
    15. Elijah [Alternate Take #2] - (take, alternate take)
    1. I Got A Line On You
    2. It Shall Be
    3. Poor Richard
    4. Silky Sam
    5. Drunkard, The
    6. Darlin' If
    7. All The Same
    8. Jewish
    9. Dream Within A Dream
    10. She Smiles
    11. Aren't You Glad
    12. Fog
    13. So Little To Say
    14. Mellow Fellow
    15. Now Or Anywhere
    16. Space Chile
    0. DISC 3: CLEAR:
    1. Dark Eyed Woman
    2. Apple Orchard
    3. So Little Time To Fly
    4. Ground Hog
    5. Cold Wind
    6. Policeman's Ball
    7. Ice
    8. Give A Life, Take A Life
    9. I'm Truckin'
    10. Clear
    11. Caught
    12. New Dope In Town
    13. 1984
    14. Sweet Stella Baby
    15. Fuller Brush Man
    16. Coral
    1. Prelude: Nothin' To Hide
    2. Nature's Way
    3. Animal Zoo
    4. Love Has Found A Way
    5. Why Can't I Be Free
    6. Mr. Skin
    7. Space Child
    8. When I Touch You
    9. Street Worm
    10. Life Has Just Begun
    11. Morning Will Come
    12. Soldier
    13. Rougher Road
    14. Animal Zoo [Mono Single Version] - (mono)
    15. Morning Will Come [Alternate Mono Mix] - (remix, mono)
    16. Red Light Roll On
    0. DISC 5: FEEDBACK:
    1. Chelsea Girls
    2. Cadillac Cowboys
    3. Puesta Del Scam
    4. Ripe And Ready
    5. Darkness
    6. Earth Shaker
    7. Mellow Morning
    8. Right On Time
    9. Trancas Fog-Out
    10. Witch
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7646982

  • Credits
    ProducerDavid Briggs; Lou Adler; Spirit
    EngineerEirik Wangberg; Stachowaik; Mike Lietz; Armin Steiner

    Personnel: Jay Ferguson (vocals, percussion); Al Staehely, Mark Andes (vocals); Randy California (guitar); John Locke (keyboards); Cassidy (drums, percussion); Ed Cassidy (drums).
    Photographers: Guy Webster; Don Petterson.
    Sony UK's Original Albums Classics series is a terrific idea: take five remastered albums from a certain period in an artist's catalog and pop them in a slipcase for budget price. That said, what usually happens is that they take two or three classic albums from that period, and assemble the box set with other, lesser-quality albums from roughly the same era. In other words, the recordings don't follow the chronology -- it's an inventory-clearing scheme. In the case of the legendary American band Spirit, however, the five albums collected here are not only presented in the sequence they were released, they are the group's five best. Period. Spirit's genre-smashing music provided real -- and attributed -- inspiration for bands such as Traffic, Jethro Tull, Emerson, Lake & Palmer, and even Led Zeppelin. (The introduction to the song "Taurus" from Spirit's self-titled debut is directly referenced in "Stairway to Heaven.") Spirit's early recordings (and revolving door membership) featured a seamless weave of psychedelic and hard rock, folk, jazz, blues, and classical musics. These recordings -- Spirit (1968), The Family That Plays Together (1969), Clear (1969), Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus (1970), and Feedback (1972), produced hit singles and memorable album tracks including "Fresh Garbage," "Uncle Jack," "Mechanical World," "Animal Zoo," "Nature's Way," "Dark Eyed Woman," and of course, "I've Got a Line on You." The five albums in this package are full of worthy surprises and forgotten treasures. In their early years, Spirit were deeply focused on creating albums. They weren't conceptual so much as very progressive in how they perceived the sequencing of tracks that flowed together to create unique and often startling listening experiences. For the price, this package is an absolute steal and is well worth investigating for anyone not already acquainted with Spirit's music. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.25
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for