CD Orphans (Brawlers, Bawlers & Bastards) [Digipak] (CD 1144628),
back to browsing

Orphans (Brawlers, Bawlers & Bastards) [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1: BRAWLERS:
    1. Lie to Me
    2. Lowdown
    3. 2:19
    4. Fish in the Jailhouse
    5. Bottom of the World
    6. Lucinda
    7. Ain't Goin' Down the Well
    8. Lord I've Been Changed
    9. Puttin' on the Dog
    10. Road to Peace
    11. All the Time
    12. Return of Jackie and Judy, The
    13. Walk Away
    14. Sea of Love
    15. Buzz Fledderjohn
    16. Rains on Me
    0. DISC 2: BAWLERS:
    1. Bend Down the Branches
    2. You Can Never Hold Back Spring
    3. Long Way Home
    4. Widow's Grove
    5. Little Drop of Poison
    6. Shiny Things
    7. World Keeps Turning
    8. Tell It to Me
    9. Never Let Go
    10. Fannin Street
    11. Little Man
    12. It's Over
    13. If I Have to Go
    14. Goodnight Irene
    15. Fall of Troy, The
    16. Take Care of All My Children
    17. Down There by the Train
    18. Danny Says
    19. Jayne's Blue Wish
    20. Young at Heart
    0. DISC 3: BASTARDS:
    1. What Keeps Mankind Alive
    2. Children's Story
    3. Heigh Ho
    4. Army Ants
    5. Books of Moses
    6. Bone Chain
    7. Two Sisters
    8. First Kiss
    9. Dog Door
    10. Redrum
    11. Nirvana
    12. Home I'll Never Be
    13. Poor Little Lamb
    14. Altar Boy
    15. Pontiac, The
    16. Spidey's Wild Ride
    17. King Kong
    18. On the Road
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 868442

  • Credits
    ProducerTom Waits; Kathleen Brennan

    Personnel: Tom Waits (vocals, guitar, keyboards, percussion); Dave Alvin, Joe Gore, Larry LaLonde, Marc Ribot, Ron Hacker, Brett Gurewitz (guitar); Anges Amar (whistle); John Hammond , Charlie Musselwhite (harmonica); Ralph Carney (saxophone); Seth Ford Young, Larry Taylor , Les Claypool (bass instrument); Casey Waits (drums); Bobby Baloo (cowbells); Gino Robair, Jeff Sloan, Stephen Hodges, Steve Foreman, Andrew Borger, Brain (percussion).
    A veritable godsend for Tom Waits fans (and a fun place for the uninitiated to plunge in feet first), ORPHANS is a 3-disc, 54-track set that brings together previously unheard material from various stages of Waits's career. The songs are grouped by style. The first disc, BRAWLERS, contains raucous stomps and uptempo jams, the second disc, BAWLERS, is full of lyrical balladry, and the third, BASTARDS, is a hodge-podge of experimental tunes and covers. Many of the songs are outtakes from studio albums, while others are the results of outside projects or one-off oddities.
    Waits's unique sensibility is in full flower throughout the set: his gruff croon, barks, and howls; the insistent clanking of strange percussion; and his evocative, detail-rich lyrics are all on ample display. From the spooky rave-up of "Lie to Me" through the heartrending beauty of "Shiny Things" and the familiar strains of "Goodnight Irene," to his off-kilter cover of Daniel Johnston's "King Kong," ORPHANS is packed with spectacular surprises. Add beautiful packaging and a lyric book complete with rare photos, and ORPHANS becomes another must-have document from one of music's most imaginative and consistently enjoyable artists.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.120) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "'Tell It to Me' and the recycled 'The Fall of Troy' are genre classics right up there with Wait's bumptious claims on 'Young at Heart' and 'Goodnight Irene'."
    Rolling Stone (p.103) - Ranked #10 in Rolling Stone's "The Top 50 Albums Of 2006" -- "Waits still finds magic..."
    Entertainment Weekly (p.87) - "[The set] adds a truckload of characters....Familiar, compelling, and tugging out empathy." -- Grade: A
    Q (p.138) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "BAWLERS is Asylum-vintage Waits. Piano and death-rattle voice to the fore, here he's wreathed in smoke, down at the bottom of a bottle."
    Q (p.118) - Ranked #54 in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums of 2006."
    Magnet (p.93) - "Waits wisely organizes each disc around a loose musical or narrative theme, respectively collecting roadhouse blues shouters, love-and-murder ballads and bizarro sonic experiments."
    Down Beat (p.67) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "ORPHANS is as true as music can be....In the underbelly world made real through his finest work, Waits has earned the right to be its bard."
    No Depression (p.81) - "[The songs] are as rhythmically and melodically strong, as realized, as any single he's ever released."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.104) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "With his unfussy brushstrokes, umber hues and humanely honest delight in warts and all, he is the Rembrandt of modern music."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $28.61
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for