CD Out of Exile (CD 869549),
back to browsing

Out of Exile

  • 1. Your Time Has Come
    2. Out of Exile
    3. Be Yourself
    4. Doesn't Remind Me
    5. Drown Me Slowly
    6. Heaven's Dead
    7. Worm, The
    8. Man or Animal
    9. Yesterday to Tomorrow
    10. Dandelion
    11. #1 Zero
    12. Curse, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 000460302

  • Credits
    ProducerRick Rubin; Rick Rubin
    EngineerBrian Virtue; Thom Russo; Jim Scott; Billy Bowers; Brian Virtue; Thom Russo; Jim Scott

    Audioslave: Tim Commerford (bass guitar); Chris Cornell, Tom Morello, Brad Wilk.
    Personnel: Chris Cornell (vocals); Tom Morello (guitar); Brad Wilk (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Brendan O'Brien .
    Photographer: Ethan Russell.
    OUT OF EXILE presents a band that has grown comfortably into its own skin. Three years after Audioslave's highly successful debut, the supergroup crafted a truly formidable rock album with a fresh, live-in-the-studio rawness. Former Rage Against the Machine guitarist Tom Morello rolls back the distortion subtly, playing with a notably more melodic touch, best evidenced on "Heaven's Dead" and "Dandelion." Soundgarden's Chris Cornell's weathered voice at times walks a perilous ledge, yet never to a fault--that very danger and heartfelt soulfulness are part and parcel of his revered approach. The heady and poetic "#1 Zero" and "Be Yourself" strongly uphold Cornell's consummate lyrical prowess.
    OUT OF EXILE could hardly be an Audioslave record without a crop of head-thrashing, foot-stomping riffs, as revealed in "Your Time Has Come," "The Worm," and the powerful title track. Bassist Tim Commerford remains supportive and inventive in his playing, while Brad Wilk notches up his drumming considerably, taking chances and stretching beyond his dependable grooves on the band's first release. With the crack production and mixing of Rick Rubin and Brendan O'Brien, respectively, OUT OF EXILE raises the bar for the quartet on all levels.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (pp.97-98) - "Drummer Brad Wilk drives, bassist Tim Commerford is solely in charge of grooves, and guitarist Tom Morello works hard at being amazing." - Grade: A-
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.95) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[T]he quartet display a welcome lightness of touch. 'Be Yourself' is a soar-away piece of drivetime empathy..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $7.76
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for