CD Pacific Ocean Blue [Legacy Edition] [Digipak] (CD 1314803),
back to browsing

Pacific Ocean Blue [Legacy Edition] [Digipak]

    1. River Song
    2. What's Wrong
    3. Moonshine
    4. Friday Night
    5. Dreamer
    6. Thoughts Of You
    7. Time
    8. You And I
    9. Pacific Ocean Blues
    10. Farewell My Friend
    11. Rainbows
    12. End Of The Show
    13. Tug Of Love - (previously unreleased)
    14. Only With You - (previously unreleased)
    15. Holy Man - (previously unreleased)
    16. Mexico - (previously unreleased)
    1. Under The Moonlight - (previously unreleased)
    2. It's Not Too Late - (previously unreleased)
    3. School Girl - (previously unreleased)
    4. Love Remember Me - (previously unreleased)
    5. Love Surrounds Me - (previously unreleased)
    6. Wild Situation - (previously unreleased)
    7. Common - (previously unreleased)
    8. Are You Real - (previously unreleased)
    9. He's A Bum - (previously unreleased)
    10. Cocktails - (previously unreleased)
    11. I Love You - (previously unreleased)
    12. Costant Companion - (previously unreleased)
    13. Time For Bed - (previously unreleased)
    14. Album Tag Song - (previously unreleased)
    15. All Alone - (previously unreleased)
    16. Piano Variations On Thoughts Of You - (previously unreleased)
    17. Holy Man (Taylor Hawkins Version) - (previously unreleased, featuring Taylor Hawkins)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 88697317112

  • Credits
    ProducerDennis Wilson; Gregg Jakobson

    Personnel: Dennis Wilson (vocals, harmonica, keyboards, drums, background vocals); Ed Carter (guitar, bass guitar); Ed Tuleja, Carl Wilson (guitar, background vocals); Jeff Legg, David Cohen, Earle Mankey, John Hanlon, Steve Ross , Fred Tackett (guitar); Neil Levang (guitars); John Foss (reeds, horns); Joel Peskin (reeds); Michael Andreas, Steve Douglas (horns); Sterling Smith, Carli Munoz (keyboards); Dave Hessler, Alton Hendrickson, James Jamerson (bass guitar); Bobby Figueroa, David Kemper, Hal Blaine, Ricky Fataar, Tommy Smith (drums); Manolo Badrena (percussion).
    Though largely ignored upon its original release in 1977, and previously available on CD for a very brief time in the early 1990s, the sole solo album released by Beach Boys drummer Dennis Wilson in his lifetime has long been considered a lost masterpiece. PACIFIC OCEAN BLUE could not be further from the surf and sand, cars and girls world of the Beach Boys' early hits. In its mix of lavish orchestrations, funereal tempos, and haunted, often depressing lyrics, PACIFIC OCEAN BLUE sounds like the spiritual heir not only of PET SOUNDS, but of Neil Young's TONIGHT'S THE NIGHT. The two-disc reissue contains outtakes from this album's sesssions as well as the entirety of Wilson's never-released second solo album, written and recorded in 1978 and '79.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.77) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "PACIFIC OCEAN BLUE is a cinematic meditation on loss, both personal and environmental. A trio of wrenchingly intimate songs about a failed relationship anchor the album..."
    Spin (p.119) - "[A] piano-driven epic of doomed romanticism....[With] raw-throated, harmonically rich ballads..."
    The Wire (p.46) - "Wilson's solo project now bears flattering resemblance to other cherished winter of discontent discs from the mid-70s, of the order of Big Star's THIRD or Shuggie Otis's INSPIRATION INFORMATION."
    Q (Magazine) (p.116) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "The music amounts to a compelling period piece....Listen hard, and you can hear the sound of life lived so near the existential edge that it beggars belief."
    Mojo (Publisher) (3/01/04, p.55) - Included in Mojo's The 67 Lost Albums You Must Own! - "How can music this expansive, ambitious and affecting have slipped through the cracks?"
    Blender (Magazine) (p.79) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] moody, groovy and deeply congenial album. Dennis had his brother Brian's gift for melody..."
    Paste (magazine) (p.79) - "Full of lush harmonies, grandiose orchestrations and poignant lyrics, these songs have lost none of their innocent melancholy over the last three decades."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.75
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for