CD Patrick Sky [Patrick Sky] (CD 168646),
back to browsing

Patrick Sky [Patrick Sky]

  • 1. Many a Mile
    2. Hangin' Round
    3. Love Will Endure
    4. Reuben
    5. Rattlesnake Mountain
    6. Everytime
    7. Come With Me Love
    8. Nectar of God
    9. Separation Blues
    10. Ballad of Ira Hayes, The
    11. Words Without Music
    12. Wreck of the Old '97
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 79179

  • Credits

    Personnel: Patrick Sky (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Ralph Rinzler (mandolin).
    Liner Note Authors: Dave Van Ronk; Terri.
    Sky was one of the numerous folky singer-songwriters to be placed in the new Dylan camp during the '60s (and, for that matter, ever since). Although the comparison with Dylan is basically unfair, and his talents were not without modest charms, they didn't measure up to Dylan in the slightest. On this 1965 debut, Sky did present a mixture of original and traditional material that, inadvertently or not, recalled Sir Bob's early acoustic efforts in their basic arrangements and keening phrasing, although Sky's voice and compositions are ordinary. Not everyone knew it at the time, but this brand of folk, and of singing-songwriting, was on the verge of being rendered totally pass. But as a '60s folk recording of this style goes, it's an adequate job, including some of his most famous compositions ("Many a Mile" and "Love Will Endure," the latter of which was covered by the Blues Project), and committed interpretations of "Wreck of the 97" and songs by Tom Paxton and Peter LaFarge. ~ Richie Unterberger

0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Rock
  • Label: Vanguard 79179
  • Distributor: Welk
  • Analog/Digital: n/a
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 015707917926
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.26
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for