CD Peace Not War, Vol. 2 (CD 1081380),
back to browsing

Peace Not War, Vol. 2

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. We Don't Stop - Spearhead/Gift of Gab
    2. Ducky Boy - Jurassic 5/Babu
    3. Last Trumpet, The - Lyrics Born/Lateef
    4. Mass Destruction - Faithless
    5. What Would You Do? - Paris
    6. Arrest the President - Rawdog/Taskforce/Braintax
    7. What For? - Maya Jupiter
    8. Countries at War - Visionary Underground
    9. State of the World - Lifesavas
    10. We Want Your Soul - Free*Land
    11. Starship Trooper - The Herd
    12. Peace Not War - GM Babyz/SuparNovar
    13. Counter War Terrorism - Train Of Thought
    14. Revolution - Carpetface/FreeFall Collective
    15. Fight Back - Mc Son Of Nun
    16. Wmd Day - Angel/The Rub
    17. New Kicks - Le Tigre
    18. Not in My Name - Banco de Gaia
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Power to the Peaceful - Anti-Flag
    2. True Nature - Jane's Addiction
    3. Welcome to the Occupation - Brad Postlethwaite
    4. Albright Momument, Baghdad - Propagandhi
    5. Animal - Ani DiFranco
    6. On the Face of It - The Evens
    7. Don't Kill - Hamell on Trial
    8. War Is Coming - Sara Marlowe
    9. To the Tap - Karma Sutra
    10. Saddest Game, The - Martha Tilton
    11. Jello From the Sky - Gertrude
    12. Masters of Deception - Ghetto Priest
    13. George Bush Is an Islamic Fundamentalist - The Rub
    14. Someone New - Kelly Gang
    15. Gratitude - Saritah
    16. Day the World Said Stop the War, The - Robb Johnson
    17. Peace Attack - Sonic Youth
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2

  • Credits

    Released a month before the 2004 U.S. presidential elections, Peace Not War, Vol. 2 is a collection of 37 songs on two discs, one called "Beats" and the other "Chords." Everything was chosen from artist submissions, which means that, besides big names like Michael Franti, Faithless, Ani DiFranco, Anti-Flag, and quite a few groups off the Quannum label, there are a bunch of little-known musicians, as well. That's not to say there are poorly produced, messy songs on here. Thanks to easy access to reasonable home recording equipment, the tracks all have a professional quality to them, and many of the lesser-known indie artists (Son of Nun for example) sound every bit as good as their more famous counterparts. The musicians, all from the U.S., the U.K., and Australia, fall easily into the left side of the political spectrum and do a good deal of Bush/Blair/Howard bashing and questioning of the war on terrorism, especially those included on the "Beats" disc, which makes sense, as hip-hop generally tends to deal more directly and candidly with whichever issues it addresses. The "Chords" disc, with both hard electric and soft acoustic guitars (which, when in back-to-back songs, can be an almost unsettling combination), instead speaks about the broader themes of war, poverty, racism, deception, and government (an exception being the Rub's tongue-in-cheek "George Bush Is an Islamic Fundamentalist," which is about as far from inconspicuous as you can get). The intention of Peace Not War, Vol. 2 is to excite and anger as many young liberal voters as it can to stand up and speak out for what they believe in, so the album's producers are careful to choose songs that shy away from promoting aggression or extreme revolution or that focus too much on conspiracy theories. Instead, the tracks concentrate more on peaceful protest and on convincing the listeners of the injustice of war, both in general and in the Middle East. There are some weak points, where the line between sappy and poignant is crossed (Robb Johnson's "The Day the World Said Stop the War," or Liquid Blue's "Making Up," for example), but for the most part Peace Not War, Vol. 2 is a good mix of sounds, good for non-violent rallies that want to motivate the participants or for a listener who wants find music that supports his political views. ~ Marisa Brown

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for