CD Prime Time/Chain Lightning/Believers (CD 1312793),
back to browsing

Prime Time/Chain Lightning/Believers

    1. Prime Time
    2. Statue, The
    3. Jump
    4. Redwing
    5. Wrong Thing to Do, The
    6. Pattern is Broken, The
    7. When Love Begins
    8. Color TV Blues
    9. Building My Body
    10. Down the Road/Sally Ann
    11. When a Good Thing Goes Bad
    12. South of the Border
    13. If You Can Dream
    14. Words and Music
    15. Crying
    16. It's Just the Sun
    17. Lotta Lovin'
    18. Chain Lightning
    19. Your Cheating Heart
    1. Wonderful Night
    2. It Doesn't Matter Anymore
    3. Since I Don't Have You
    4. Genesis (In the Beginning)
    5. It's a Beautiful Life
    6. If Youn Could Read My Mind
    7. Castles in the Air
    8. Isn't it Strange
    9. Left for Dead on the Road of Love
    10. Believers
    11. Sea Man
    12. I Tune the World Out
    13. Love Hurts
    14. Jerusalem
    15. Love Letters
    16. Crazy Eyes
    17. Sea Cruise
    18. Dream Lover
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2024

  • Credits
    ProducerLarry Butler
    EngineerEd Sprigg; Jesse Henderson; Billy Sherrill; Charlie Tallent

    Personnel: Don McLean (guitar, acoustic guitar); James Capps, Ray Edenton (guitar, acoustic guitar); Billy Sanford (guitar, electric guitar); Steve Chapman , Tommy Allsup, Jerry Shook (guitar); Pete Drake (pedal steel guitar); Dennis Solee (saxophone); Chuck Cochran, David Briggs , Hargus "Pig" Robbins (piano); Bobby Woods (electric piano); Leon Rhodes (6-string bass); Jerry Carrigan (drums, percussion); Gene Chrisman, Joseph Chrisman, Eddy Anderson, Howie Wyeth (drums); Ronald Vaughn (percussion); The Jordanaires (background vocals).
    Liner Note Authors: Don McLean; Herb Gart; Joel Dorn.
    Recording information: Jack Clement Recording Studio, Nashville, TN (06/26/1978-06/29/1978); Long Farm Studios, North Brookfield, MA (06/26/1978-06/29/1978); The Hit Factory, NYC (06/26/1978-06/29/1978); The Sound Emporium, Nashville, TN (06/26/1978-06/29/1978); Jack Clement Recording Studio, Nashville, TN (08/22/1978-08/23/1978); Long Farm Studios, North Brookfield, MA (08/22/1978-08/23/1978); The Hit Factory, NYC (08/22/1978-08/23/1978); The Sound Emporium, Nashville, TN (08/22/1978-08/23/1978).
    Photographer: Don McLean.
    Arranger: Don McLean.
    This British two-fer combines the contents of Don McLean's seventh, eighth, and ninth albums, Prime Time (originally released in October 1977), Chain Lightning (initially released internationally in December 1978, but not in the U.S. until January 1981), and Believers (October 1981). (Each of these albums was reissued on CD in the U.S. in 1997 by Hip-O Records with an added bonus track, and those tracks, the McLean original "If You Can Dream" and covers of Gordon Lightfoot's "If You Could Read My Mind" and Bobby Darin's "Dream Lover," are included here.) Well past his early-'70s commercial breakthrough with "American Pie" and "Vincent," McLean in the late '70s and early '80s was an assured writer and performer with an eclectic taste in musical styles, as willing to cover an old favorite as to write a new song. The American hits that emerged from these sessions included covers of Roy Orbison's "Crying" and the Skyliners' "Since I Don't Have You," as well as McLean's remake of his own "Castles in the Air." McLean named each album after an ambitious title song that examined the world critically in social ("Prime Time"), romantic ("Chain Lightning"), or philosophical ("Believers") terms, but filled the rest of the LPs with love songs often set to pop-country arrangements and covers of oldies rendered affectionately, if sometimes a little too carefully. Throughout, he stuck to a world view developed on his earlier albums, with a downcast, nearly Biblical attitude toward present times and a sense of warm nostalgia for the musical past of his teens, as romantic love offered the possibility of refuge from the crass commercialism, greed, and pollution of contemporary life. And he always maintained a practically curatorial sense of taste and craft, making these albums highly listenable decades after they first appeared. ~ William Ruhlmann

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $17.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for