CD Raintown (CD 1270592),
back to browsing


  • 1. Born in a Storm
    2. Raintown
    3. Ragman
    4. He Looks Like Spencer Tracy Now
    5. Loaded
    6. When Will You (Make My Telephone Ring)
    7. Chocolate Girl
    8. Dignity
    9. Very Thing, The
    10. Love's Great Fears
    11. Town to Be Blamed
    12. Riches
    13. Kings of the Western World
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 450549

  • Credits
    ProducerJon Kelly
    EngineerJon Kelly; Matt Butler

    Deacon Blue: Rick Ross, Lorraine Smith, Graeme Rolling, Douglas Vipond, Ewon Vernal, James Prine.
    Personnel: Graeme Kelling (vocals, guitar); Ricky Ross, Lorraine McIntosh (vocals); Chris Rea (slide guitar); James Prime (keyboards, background vocals); Ewen Vernal, George Chandler, Jimmy Helms, Jimmy Chambers (background vocals).
    Recording information: Air, London (12/1986-02/1987).
    Photographer: Oscar Marzaroli.
    An inspiring debut of well-crafted adult pop, heavily under the influence of Prefab Sprout, it was originally released by CBS Records in the U.K. in May 1987. Raintown was released in the U.S. by Columbia Records in March 1988. ~ Steve Aldrich

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (6/88, p.78) - "...a listener's delight...few other acts make such surprisingly timeless, sophisticated, and genuinely emotional pop music these days..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.117) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Wearing its transatlantic influences on its sleeve, the album also packs classy white soul workout 'When Will You', and the tale of slowly melting love, 'Chocolate Girl', this beautifully ornamented by BJ Cole's pedal steel."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.59
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for