CD Random, Vol. 1: A Gary Numan Tribute (CD 890648),
back to browsing

Random, Vol. 1: A Gary Numan Tribute

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Stormtrooper. In. Drag - Saint Etienne
    2. We. Have.A. Technical - Damon Albarn/Matt Sharp
    3. Poetry and Power - Gravity Kills
    4. I. Can't. Stop. - Peck Slip
    5. Are 'Friends' Electric? - An Pierl
    6. We. Are. Glass - EMF
    7. I. Die: You. Die - Magnetic Fields
    8. We. Are. So. Fragile - Jesus Jones
    9. She's. Got. Claws - Posh
    10. M.E. - Earl Brutus
    11. Films. - Lewis Parker/Underdog
    12. Me! I Disconnect From You - Sukia
    13. Jo. The. Waiter. - The Orb (Bon Aptit. Remix, Bon Appetit Remix)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I'm an Agent - Kenickie
    2. Down. In. The. Park - Jimi Tenor
    3. Are 'Friends' Electric? - Moloko
    4. Remember.I. Was. Vapour. - Chris Holmes
    5. Metal - Towering Inferno
    6. Everyday.I. Die. - Dubstar
    7. Absolution - Amanda Ghost
    8. Replicas - Deadsy
    9. Friends - Pop Will Eat Itself
    10. Are 'Friends' Electric? - Republica
    11. War. Songs - Windscale
    12. We. Are. So. Fragile - Bis
    13. Cars. - Dave Clarke
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 80195

  • Credits
    ProducerBrian Higgins; Doug Firley; EMF; Earl Brutus; Pete Gofton; Ian Dench; Jimi Tenor; Josh Abraham; Moloko; Peck Slip; Posh; Ralph Jezzard; Republica; Stephin Merritt; Sterling Campbell; Towering Inferno; Richard Evans
    EngineerBrian Higgins; Dominique Brethes; John "BJ John" Smith; Dave Benez; Andy Carpenter; Sea; Jimi Tenor; Republica; Chad Fridirici

    RANDOM is an album of covers of Gary Numan songs.
    Performers include: Matt Sharp, Damon Albarn, Gravity Kills, Republica, Bis, The Orb, Pop Will Eat Itself, Jesus Jones, EMF, Kenickie, St. Etienne.
    Personnel: Damon Albarn (vocals, guitar, Moog synthesizer); Elijah Blue, Jody Reynolds, Mike Edwards (vocals, guitar); An Pierl (vocals, piano); Gary Numan (vocals, keyboards, programming); Matt Sharp (vocals, Moog synthesizer, programming); James Atkin (vocals, Theremin); Clint Mansell, Amanda Ghost, Jennifer Tzar, Nick Sanderson, Saffron, Sarah Blackwood, Stephin Merritt (vocals); Ian Dench (guitar, programming); Chris Wilkie, Andre W. Hobson, Adam Mole, Jonny Male, Jerry de Borg (guitar); John Woo (banjo); Gordon King, Tim Dorney (keyboards, programming); Dr. Alex Paterson, Joe Munroe, Andy Hughes (keyboards); Renns Hawkey (synthesizer); Sterling Campbell (drums, sampler, background vocals); Dave Rowntree, Geoff Southall, Mark de Cloedt (drums); Deadsy, Josh Abraham, Steve Hillier, Towering Inferno (programming).
    Audio Mixers: Doug Firley; Ian Richardson; Andy Carpenter .
    Audio Remixers: The Orb; Thomas Fehlmann.
    Editor: Fin.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Ian Dench; Jimi Tenor.
    Gary Numan is known for robotic, stylized singing. His primitive electronics and pre-"new romantic" sound did nothing for me. A myriad, zealous voices will tell you that Numan was sings "good songs." Now, in this 2-CD collection of Numan interpretations you can hear those good songs without Numan's idiosyncratic delivery. The known and the unknown join to make proto-dance music out of mechanical master's material. Matt Sharp (Weezer) and Damon Albarn (Blur) cover "We Have a Technical." Also on the compilation are Gravity Kills, EMF, The Magnetic Fields, Jesus Jones, the out-of-place hip hop group Underdog (but, there's only one of them), Sukia, The Orb, Pop Will Eat Itself. One of my favorite cuts is "Metal" by Towering Inferno. Brian Eno described their Kaddish album as "frightening" and they are here joined by Eddie Reader. I also am very fond of the two versions of "Are 'Friends' Electric?" Techno rockers Republicaare joined by Numan himself for one version and Belgian discovery An Pierle offers another. ~ Tom Schulte

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (6/13/97, p.69) - "With contributors as diverse as Jesus Jones and Gravity Kills, this two-CD tribute to Gary Numan is a satisfying scan of today's club culture....these hypnotic covers remind you of what made the originals so compelling." - Rating: B
    Melody Maker (6/28/97, p.51) - "...The best tracks here people who... seem to appreciate the brutality of sound and approach that always characterized Numan's best music....synth-heavy slabs of austere electronics are as weird and powerful as half of what we call techno today."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.28
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for