CD Retrospective [Red House Painters] [CD] [1 disc] (CD 992123),
back to browsing

Retrospective [Red House Painters] [CD] [1 disc]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Shock Me
    2. Grace Cathedral Park
    3. Katy Song
    4. Summer Dress
    5. New Jersey
    6. Medicine Bottle
    7. Michael
    8. San Geronimo
    9. Bubble
    10. Mistress
    11. Drop
    12. Evil
    13. Rollercoaster
    0. DISC 2: DEMOS, OUTTAKES, LIVE 1989-95:
    1. Funhouse - (demo)
    2. Waterkill - (previously unreleased, demo)
    3. Uncle Joe - (demo)
    4. Helicopter - (demo)
    5. Brown Eyes - (4 track demo)
    6. Dragonflies - (Rollercoaster outtake)
    7. Japanese to English
    8. Shock Me
    9. Over My Head - (4 track demo)
    10. Brockwell Park - (4 track demo)
    11. Shadows - (Ocean Beach outtake)
    12. Mistress
    13. Summer Dress
    14. Instrumental - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 79011

  • Credits

    Red House Painters: Mark Kozelek (vocals); Gorden Mack (guitar); Jerry Vessel (bass); Anthony Koutsos (drums).
    Includes liner notes by Rob O' Condor.
    Recording information: KCRW; Paris, France.
    Photographers: Dominic Davies; Chris Bigg.
    Mark Kozelek has a knack for writing songs that capture the fading, sepia-tinted hope of adolescence with so much insight that they can be physically painful to hear. Originally recording for the ultra-hip English 4AD label, his Red House Painters were often too introspective for mainstream commercial acceptance. But the songs collected on RETROSPECTIVE, a two-disc collection of LP tracks, demos, live versions, and outtakes dating from the band's tenure with the label, more than make the case for Kozelek as one of the great singer/songwriters of his generation.
    The first disc covers LP tracks and includes such jaw-droppers as "Grace Cathedral Park," "New Jersey," "Medicine Bottle," Kozelek's painful ode to dying love, and "Michael," a gorgeous song about the memory of an old friend. The second disc consists of rarities. Standouts include the sinewy and uneasy "Waterkill," an in-studio radio show version of "Mistress," and an extraordinary live solo rendition of "Japanese To English" that instills such lyrics as "a million miles away from home / and 15 from a pay phone" with even more isolation into than one might have thought possible. Do yourself a favor and buy RETROSPECTIVE. You owe this band your support.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (7/30/99, p.75) - "...enigma wrapped in reverb wrapped in rue....The wistfulness occasionally smacks of freshman poetry. But as sensitive boys go, Kozelek woos well." - Rating: B
    Q (9/99, p.134) - 4 stars (out of 5) - "...unarguably the best - from the exquisitely sad MICHAEL (1992) to the almost-sunny SUMMER DRESS (1995)..."
    Alternative Press (11/99, p.129) - 5 out of 5 - "...unconventionally epic, deeply melodic music from this decade's greatest songwriter....Nothing about RETROSPECTIVE reeks of overindulgence - it simply honors a living legend."
    Mojo (Publisher) (10/99, p.131) - "...a languorous 75mins of limpid acoustic guitars, slovenly percussion and drowsy vocals....[the] Painters ploughed a melancholy, folksy furrow....There's a bonus CD of demos and outtakes to tempt the faithful."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for