CD SCREENPLAYING [Mark Knopfler] (CD 1344099),
back to browsing


  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 5183272

  • Credits

    SCREENPLAYING is a collection of music Mark Knopfler has written and performed for motion picture soundtracks.
    Personnel: Mark Knopfler (guitar, synthesizer, drums, percussion); David Nolan, Irvine Arditti (violin); Paul Brady (mandolin, whistle); Liam O'Flynn (Uilleann pipes); Michael Brecker (saxophone); Alan Clark (piano, Hammond organ, synthesizer); Guy Fletcher (keyboards); Mike Mainieri (vibraphone); Eddie Gomez, Neil Jason, Tony Levin (bass); Terry Williams (drums); John Illsley, Steve Jordan.
    Engineers include: Neil Dorfsman, Marc De Sista, Steve Jackson.
    This album presents excerpts from four movie scores written and performed by Dire Straits leader Mark Knopfler: Cal, Last Exit to Brooklyn, The Princess Bride, and Local Hero. The music is reminiscent of the calmer parts of Dire Straits songs: melodic, lyrical, and touching. ~ William Ruhlmann

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (12/93, p.140) - 3 Stars - Good - "...At times, [SCREENPLAYING] is all a bit log-fires and liqueurs but [Mark Knopler's] talent for melody always saves the day..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $7.85
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for