CD SYR 4: Goodbye 20th Century (CD 1055160),
back to browsing

SYR 4: Goodbye 20th Century

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Edges, for any number of players, free instrumtation
    2. Six, for 6 percussionists - (3rd Take)
    3. Six for New Time
    4. +-
    5. Voice Piece for Soprano
    6. Pendulum Music, for 3 or more microphones, amps & loudspeakers
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Koan: Having Never Written a Note for percussion (For John Bergamo): [Excerpt]
    2. Six, for 6 percussionists - (4th Take)
    3. Burdocks
    4. Four6, for any way of producing sounds
    5. Piano Piece No. 13 (Carpenter's Piece)
    6. Pice Enfantine
    7. Treatise, for any number of musicians with any instruments: [Excerpt]
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4

  • Credits
    EngineerLuc Suer; Wharton Tiers

    This is an Enhanced audio CD, which contains regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
    Sonic Youth: Kim Gordon, Lee Ranaldo, Steve Shelley, Thurston Moore.
    Additional personnel: William Winant, Jim O'Rourke, Takehisa Kosugi, Christian Wolff, Christian Marclay, Coco Hayley Gordon Moore, Wharton Tiers.
    Producers: Sonic Youth, William Winant, Jim O'Rourke.
    Recorded in New York, New York from March-August 1999.
    Personnel: Jim O'Rourke (vocals, guitar); Christian Marclay, Lee Ranaldo, Steve Shelley, Thurston Moore, Takehisa Kosugi, William Winant , Christian Wolff (vocals).
    Recording information: New York, NY (03/1999-08/1999).
    New York's premier alternative band has been releasing "experimental" material on the sly on its private label, SYR, for a few years now. But this fourth release, a homage to a handful of highly influential experimental composers such as John Cage, Cornelius Cardew, and Pauline Oliveros, qualifies as a major Sonic Youth album. There's formless experimental music and then there's formless experimental music. This bona fide modernist rock & roll band knows the idiom so well and has been playing so well together for so long that the group's finely honed guitar textures (and familiar voices) make for a surprisingly revealing addition to the mix. These are no musical amateurs. Cage's music in particular demands a kind of haiku-like perfect placement of musical elements and the band demonstrates on no less than three tracks that it knows where to put what and when. Even Steve Reich's "Pendulum Music", a composition for a swinging, feedback-prone microphone and speakers seems somehow sweetly melodic in the loving hands of these millennial kids.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (3/00, p.155) - "...a stairway to postmodernist heaven....finding SY and pals rifling through scores by venerable oddball composers..."
    Alternative Press (2/00, pp.90-1) - 4 out of 5 - " of the best records Sonic Youth have done in quite a while....a beautiful thing, a career highlight for the band and well worth owning."
    The Wire (1/00, p.67) - Included in Wire Magazine's "50 Records Of The Year ['99]"
    The Wire (1/00, p.78) - "...Sonic Youth's farewell to the century effectively says thank you to some of the...avant garde...enablers....That these figures still appear avant garde is a sign of their continuing all sounds fine..."
    CMJ (12/13/99, p.21) - "...this music is meant to not only push the envelope but also twist it, shred it, burn it and mail it to places where sound has never been before....provides a challenging listen..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for