CD Safe Trip Home (Deluxe Edition) [Slipcase] (CD 1314984),
back to browsing

Safe Trip Home (Deluxe Edition) [Slipcase]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Don't Believe in Love
    2. Quiet Times
    3. Never Want to Say It's Love
    4. Grafton Street
    5. It Comes and It Goes
    6. Look No Further
    7. Us 2 Little Gods
    8. Day Before the Day, The
    9. Let's Do the Things We Normally Do
    10. Burnin Love - (featuring Citizen Cope)
    11. Northern Skies
    0. DISC 2: BONUS DISK:
    1. For One Day
    2. Summer
    3. Northern Skies [Rollo & Sister Bliss Remix] - (remix)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 88697403212

  • Credits

    Dating back to her majestic debut, the million-selling NO ANGEL, an element of sadness has lurked behind Dido's songs of love and other emotions. On her third record, 2008's SAFE TRIP HOME, those blues bubble over, at least partially fueled by the death of her father in 2006. It's a sweet sort of darkness that propels the record, one that lends her usual hook-laden jazzed-out pop a gentle gravity. From opening track (and single), the mournful ode to numbness "Don't Believe in Love," on, the British singer belies a soulless exterior with a deeply soulful center. While perhaps not as forlorn as her ancient namesake, Dido is ever prey to a Tom Waits-style world weariness, yet bound to a radio-ready ray of hope, a combination that comes to a maturity on SAFE TRIP HOME.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.124) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Dido's featherweight soul has always harbored a dark side, and her third set expands her wine-bar sound with shadows....Dido's voice is so comforting, you almost miss the blues it conceals."
    Entertainment Weekly (p.118) - "[T]he album's co-producer, Jon Brion, masterfully adds brooding strings that suggest deeper passions at play beneath the resignation." -- Grade: B
    Billboard (p.77) - "'Quiet Times' is a shuffling, string-laden shanty that recalls great Brit folk-pop band the Sundays. 'It Comes and It Goes' has an irresistible sway..."
    Blender (Magazine) (p.77) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "'Grafton Street' achieves the delicate melancholic ambience that made her breakthrough ballad, 'Thank You,' a powerful backdrop for Eminem's 'Stan.'"
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.97
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for