CD Santana [Legacy Edition] [Digipak] (CD 1063044),
back to browsing

Santana [Legacy Edition] [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1: SANTANA (1ST LP):
    1. Waiting
    2. Evil Ways
    3. Shades of Time
    4. Savor
    5. Jingo
    6. Persuasion
    7. Treat
    8. You Just Don't Care
    9. Soul Sacrifice
    10. Savor - (previously unreleased, take 2, alternate take)
    11. Soul Sacrifice - (previously unreleased, take 4, alternate take, live)
    12. Studio Jam - (previously unreleased)
    0. DISC 2: SANTANA (1ST LP):
    1. Fried Neckbones - (previously unreleased)
    2. Soul Sacrifice - (previously unreleased)
    3. Persuasion - (previously unreleased)
    4. Treat - (previously unreleased)
    5. Shades of Time - (previously unreleased)
    6. Jingo - (previously unreleased)
    7. Waiting - (previously unreleased, live)
    8. You Just Don't Care - (previously unreleased, live)
    9. Savor - (live)
    10. Jingo - (previously unreleased, live)
    11. Persuasion - (previously unreleased, live)
    12. Soul Sacrifice - (live)
    13. Fried Neckbones - (live)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 90272

  • Credits
    EngineerBob Breault; Eric Prestidge; Edwin H. Kramer; Lee Osborne; Bob Breault; Eric Prestidge

    Also available in a 3-pack with ABRAXAS and SANTANA (3rd LP).
    Santana: Carlos Santana (vocals, guitar); Greg Rolie (vocals, piano, organ); Dave Brown (bass); Mike Shrieve (drums); Jose Chepito Areas (timbales, congas, percussion); Mike Carabello (congas, percussion).
    Reissue producer: Bob Irwin.
    Recorded at Pacific Recording, San Mateo, California in May 1969 and live at The Woodstock Festival, Bethel, New York on August 16, 1969.
    Includes liner notes by Ben Fong-Torres.
    Santana: Carlos Santana (guitar, vocals); Greg Rolie (piano, organ, vocals); Dave Brown (bass); Michael Shrieve (drums); Jose Chepito Areas (timbales, congas, percussion); Mike Carabello (congas, percussion).
    Additional personnel: Tower Of Power (horns); Coke Escovedo.
    This is part of Columbia/Legacy's Master Sound series.
    Personnel: Carlos Santana (vocals, guitar); Gregg Rolie (vocals, piano, organ); Michael Shrieve (drums); Jos Chepit Areas (congas, timbales, percussion); Mike Carabello (congas, percussion).
    Audio Mixers: Joe Lizzi; Vic Anesini.
    Liner Note Author: Hal Miller.
    Recording information: Pacific Recording, San Mateo, CA (01/27/1969-08/16/1969); Woodstock Music & Arts Festival (01/27/1969-08/16/1969).
    Photographers: Jim Marshall ; Coni "Night Loon" Beeson; John Kalodner; Amalie R. Rothschild.
    Arranger: Alberto Gianquinto.
    Before the arrival of Carlos Santana's eponymous band, the San Francisco rock scene drew the inspiration for its jam-oriented music mainly from blues, rock, and Eastern modalities. Santana added Latin music to the mix, forever changing the course of rock & roll history. On Santana's groundbreaking debut album, the group mixes Latin percussion with driving rock grooves. Santana's unique guitar style, alternately biting and liquid, vies with the multiple percussionists for the sonic focus.
    Unlike later efforts, Santana's first album features an abundance of loose collective compositions based on a couple of simple riffs ("Jingo," "Soul Sacrifice"). This approach allows for Santana and his bandmates to flex their improvisational muscles to fine effect. The high energy level on SANTANA is infectious--the laid-back feel of other '60s S.F. groups was clearly not for Carlos and company.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.131) - Ranked #150 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "[The album] combined Latin rhythms with jazz-inspired improvisation, hard-rock guitar and lyrical, B.B. King-style blues..."
    Rolling Stone (3/2/00, p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...thrilling....This is music with ambition, soul and absolute conviction - every moment played straight from the heart."
    Rolling Stone (No. 966, p.65) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[A] nonstop thirty-seven-minute rhythmic onslaught..."
    Q (5/00, p.131) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Genuinely fresh, fierce stuff even the dead-legged Woodstock generation couldn't ignore..."
    Uncut (p.135) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[S]omething vital and fresh that's still enthralling today."
    Musician (7/98, pp.86-88) - "...Sony Legacy's sonic wizards have made...[Santana's] first three albums reappear, each appended with additional live recordings....epochal explosive fusion of Hispanic-edged rock, Afro-Caribbean rhythms, and interstellar improvisation..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.09
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for