CD Science & Faith [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 7021160),
back to browsing

Science & Faith [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. You Won't Feel a Thing
    2. For the First Time
    3. Nothing
    4. Science & Faith
    5. If You Ever Come Back
    6. Long Gone and Moved On
    7. Dead Man Walking
    8. This = Love
    9. Walk Away
    10. Exit Wounds
    11. Bullet From a Gun
    0. DISC 2:
    1. For the First Time
    2. For the First Time
    3. For the First Time
    4. For the First Time (the Making of)
    5. Nothing
    6. Nothing (Behind the Scenes)
    7. Arthur's Day Footage From Dublin
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7880692

  • Credits

    Despite bursting onto the scene in 2008 with endorsements from Pharrell Williams and a history of working with R&B producers Teddy Riley and Rodney Jerkins, Dublin three-piece the Script have since become one of the biggest bands in the U.K. thanks instead to their MOR brand of soft rock that the likes of Goo Goo Dolls and Matchbox Twenty failed to translate from the States over ten years previously. Following an 18-month absence, during which the previous five singles from their chart-topping eponymous debut never left the airwaves, Danny O'Donoghue, Marc Sheehan, and Glen Power return with their follow-up, Science & Faith. Based on the struggle in relationships between men and women rather than the religious themes the title suggests, the trio's second album isn't exactly a radical departure, with previous producers Andrew Frampton and Steve Kipner back on board for another set of radio-friendly harmonious guitar pop tracks, all of which sound like they could have been lifted from several other artists' back catalog. Indeed, opening track "You Won't Feel a Thing" veers into the stadium rock territory of fellow Irishmen U2, lead single "For the First Time" is the kind of heartfelt acoustic ballad Snow Patrol have based a career on, and the likes of "Exit Wounds" and "Long Gone and Moved On" echo the more commercial moments of Coldplay's X&Y. Only the military-esque rhythms of "This = Love" offer anything remotely original, with even the bandmembers themselves admitting that the album is more of a continuation of their sound than a transition. Of course, there's no denying that the Script know their way around a melody, and the likes of the soaring string-led "Walk Away" and hook-laden heartbreak of "Nothing" feature the kind of epic killer choruses that helped their first album shift a million copies. But swamped by the same safe, repetitive, and unadventurous production, the majority of the ten tracks are indistinguishable from one another, making Science & Faith a solid but pedestrian and uninspiring affair. ~ Jon O'Brien

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (p.74) - "[With] sunny lyrics, tuneful riffs and build-build-explode! choruses....More propulsive than Kean, less arty-grandiose than Coldplay." -- GRade: B
    Billboard (p.36) - "[Y]ou have to admire his knack for writing songs that feel familiar the first time you hear them."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.22
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for