CD Self [Bonus Tracks] (CD 1266385),
back to browsing

Self [Bonus Tracks]

  • 1. Cosmic Surfer
    2. Wonders of the Universe
    3. Vishnu Narain
    4. Hallelujad
    5. Celestial Procession
    6. Self
    7. Freedom - (live)
    8. Water Goddess - (live)
    9. You Never Stay the Same
    10. Sweet Jesus
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2076

  • Credits

    Personnel: Simon Lanzon (piano).
    Audio Remasterer: Ben Wiseman.
    Recording information: Exeter University (1972); Olympic Studios, London, England (1972).
    By 1972, the magical aura that once surrounded Quintessence had long since dissipated, just as the band itself had shed much of the evocative panache that characterized their greatest moments. One more album on the unfamiliar pastures of RCA was not going to correct their decline, but Self emerged a delight regardless, chiefly courtesy of the live second side that caught the band in full flight at Exeter University. Despite being just two songs long (""Freedom"" and ""Water Goddess""), the performance rolls back the years so effectively that the faintly workaday weight of side one is barely even relevant to the album's glory. There, of course, the band's customary blending of Indian mantra and jazzy heartbeats is as eclectic as ever, and the only downside is that the group has not really moved on from its original vision. ~ Dave Thompson

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $18.88
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for