CD Shades 1968-1998 [Box] (CD 531358),
back to browsing

Shades 1968-1998 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Hush
    2. Help!
    3. Shadows - (demo, 1968)
    4. Love Help Me - (instrumental demo instrumental, 1968)
    5. Kentucky Woman - (single version)
    6. Anthem
    7. River Deep, Mountain High - (single version)
    8. Emmaretta
    9. Bird Has Flown, The - (single version)
    10. Hallelujah
    11. Speed King - (full length UK version)
    12. Child in Time
    13. Cry Free - (Roger Glover Remix, Roger Glover remix)
    14. Black Night - (full length UK version)
    15. Jam Stew - (outtake, 1970)
    16. Into the Fire - (1970)
    17. No No No - (1971)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Strange Kind of Woman
    2. I'm Alone
    3. Fireball
    4. Demon's Eye
    5. Anyone's Daughter
    6. Fools
    7. No One Came
    8. Freedom - (outtake, 1971)
    9. Slow Train - (outtake, 1971)
    10. Never Before
    11. When a Blind Man Cries
    12. Highway Star
    13. Smoke on the Water
    14. Pictures of Home
    15. Space Truckin'
    16. Printed Horse - (outtake, 1972)
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Smoke on the Water - (1972)
    2. Lazy - (1972)
    3. Woman from Tokyo
    4. Mary Long
    5. Super Trouper
    6. Smooth Dancer
    7. Burn
    8. Might Just Take Your Life
    9. Sail Away
    10. Coronarias Redig
    11. Stormbringer
    12. Hold On
    13. Lady Double Dealer - (1975)
    14. Gettin' Tighter
    15. Comin' Home
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Knocking at Your Back Door
    2. Perfect Strangers
    3. Son of Alerik - (7" single version)
    4. Call of the Wild
    5. Bad Attitude - (single version)
    6. Hard Lovin' Woman - (1987)
    7. Hush '88 - (1988)
    8. King of Dreams - (single version)
    9. Fire in the Basement
    10. Slow Down Sister
    11. Battle Rages On, The
    12. Anya - (1993)
    13. Castle Full of Rascals, A
    14. Seventh Heaven
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 75566

  • Credits

    SHADES 1968-1998 is a 4-disc deluxe box which includes a 54-page booklet featuring liner notes by David McLees, essays by Jim Ladd and Tim Joseph, a song-by-song annotation by Mick Wall as well as rare photos and a complete discography.
    Deep Purple: Ian Gillan (vocals, harmonica, congas); Jon Lord (vocals, keyboards); Nick Simper, Tommy Bolin (vocals; guitar); Glenn Hughes (vocals, bass); Rod Evans, Joe Lynn Turner, David Coverdale (vocals); Steve Morse; Ritchie Blackmore (guitar); Roger Glover (synthesizer, bass); Ian Paice (drums).
    Producers include: David McLees, Simon Robinson, Deep Purple, Martin Birch, Roger Glover.
    Compilation producers: David McLees, Simon Robinson.
    Engineers include: Andy Knight, Martin Birch. Philip McDonald.
    Digitally remastered by Bill Inglot and GAry Hersch (DigiPrep).
    Personnel: Tommy Bolin (vocals, guitar); Jon Lord (vocals, strings, keyboards); Ian Gillan (vocals, harmonica, congas); Glenn Hughes , Rod Evans, Joe Lynn Turner, Nick Simper (vocals); Joe Satriani, Ritchie Blackmore, Steve Morse (guitar); Roger Glover (synthesizer); Ian Paice (drums).
    Audio Remasterers: Dan Hersch; Bill Inglot.
    Liner Note Authors: Mick Wall; Jim Ladd.
    Recording information: Abbey Road Studios, Lo (03/1968-05/1998); De Lane Lea Studios, London, England (03/1968-05/1998); IBC studios (03/1968-05/1998); Pye Studios, London, England (03/1968-05/1998); Royal Albert Hall, London, England (03/1968-05/1998).
    Although Deep Purple is rumored to have provided the most fodder for the heavy metal parody Spinal Tap, their influence on the world of hard rock is as important as either Black Sabbath or Led Zeppelin. SHADES covers 30 years of recording done by a myriad of line-ups. Deep Purple, named after Nino Tempo and April Stevens' version of the standard, started out as a psychedelic pop act before quickly evolving into a hard rock band characterized by keyboardist Jon Lord's classical tendencies and Ritchie Blackmore's over-the-top, pull-off arpeggio solos.
    Purple's most successful and popular line-up (Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Paice, Jon Lord, Roger Glover, Ian Gillan) spent the early '70s cultivating their hard rock credentials with landmark albums such as DEEP PURPLE IN ROCK, FIREBALL, and the granddaddy of 'em all, MACHINE HEAD. "Space Truckin'," "Speed King," "Highway Star," and of course "Smoke On The Water" are classic Purple triumphs populated by muscular riffs and potent decibels loathed by critics and adored by the public. Internal dissension led to future line-up changes that found Deep Purple becoming a base from which former and future members became part of groups ranging from Whitesnake and Rainbow to Black Sabbath and the Dixie Dregs.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (4/2/99, p.95) - "...While the latter-period stuff is depressingly formulaic, discs 2 and 3 showcase this once-vibrant band at the top of its early-'70s game..." - Rating: B-
    CMJ (4/12/99, p.26) - "...SHADES is awesome, if you're metal enough to take four hours of relentless heavy riffs and arena-filling, headbanging classics. And if you're not, then it's time to beef up!"
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $63.44
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for