CD Signals, Calls and Marches [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 1165436),
back to browsing

Signals, Calls and Marches [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 1. Academy Fight Song
    2. Max Ernst
    3. Devotion
    4. Execution
    5. That's When I Reach For My Revolver
    6. Outlaw
    7. Fame and Fortune
    8. This Is Not a Photograph
    9. Red
    10. All World Cowboy Romance
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Live at the Space 1979
    2. Live at the Underground 1980
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): LOe 730-2

  • Credits
    ProducerRick Harte

    Mission Of Burma: Clint Conley (vocals, guitar, bass); Roger Miller (guitar, background vocals); Peter Prescott (drums).
    This 1997 reissue includes 2 bonus tracks not on the original release.
    Mission of Burma: Roger Miller (vocals, guitar); Clint Conley (vocals, bass guitar); Peter Prescott (vocals, drums).
    One of America's most important, but most frequently overlooked, punk rock bands, Mission Of Burma released only a handful of records before it disbanded. 1981's SIGNALS, CALLS, AND MARCHES was its debut EP following a seven-inch single, both tracks from which are included on this Ryko CD reissue.
    "That's When I Reach for My Revolver," built on Peter Prescott's powerful drumming and Clint Conely's heavy bass guitar, is an incisive look at the moment you realize that what you've been taught and what you know are different things. "Fame & Fortune" features a propulsive drum beat and Roger Miller's jagged guitar work, laced with controlled feedback. Another classic, "This is Not a Photograph," highlights scalding, scalpel-sharp guitars, and ends with a faked record skip. The album's last track, "All World Cowboy Romance," is a pretty, five-minute long instrumental with a number of complex strands and few of the jarring breaks that characterize some of the material preceding it. The two tracks from the band's first seven-inch include the spectacular, frequently covered "Academy Fight Song," one of the all-time high points in American punk rock.
    DVD Features:
    DVD content: 'Live at the Space and at the Underground, Boston, 1979-80'

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (8/01/97, p.75) - "...While some of the sharply geometric riffs and chanted vocals sound dated, the power [with which these tracks are played]...makes almost every album released today sound tame by comparison." - Rating: B+
    Q (May 2002, p.132) - 4 out of 5 stars - "...Sounds utterly phenomenal, bleeding elements of free jazz, musique concrete and psychedelia into their Wire-ish post-punk soundscapes..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (6/02, p.122) - "...Consistently excellent, from the raw beginnings tothe mannered middle, to the documentary robusto..."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[P]erhaps their strongest statement, opening with the brilliant 'Academy Fight Song' and the anthemic post-punk classic 'That's When I Reach For My Revolver'..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.54
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for