CD Singles & E.P. Anthology '68-'80 (CD 6308985),
back to browsing

Singles & E.P. Anthology '68-'80

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Hush
    2. One More Rainy Day
    3. Kentucky Woman
    4. Wring That Neck
    5. Emmaretta - (mono)
    6. Bird Has Flown, The - (mono)
    7. Help - (mono)
    8. Hallelujah
    9. April, Pt. 1
    10. Speed King [Piano Version]
    11. Black Night
    12. Living Wreck
    13. Strange Kind of Woman
    14. I'm Alone
    15. Fireball
    16. Demon's Eye
    17. Never Before
    18. When a Blind Man Cries
    19. Lazy
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Smoke on the Water [US Studio A-Side Edit]
    2. Smoke on the Water [US Live B-Side Edit]
    3. Woman from Tokyo
    4. Black Night
    5. Might Just Take Your Life
    6. Coronarias Redig
    7. Burn [US/Japan 45 Edit]
    8. Stormbringer
    9. You Keep on Moving
    10. Love Child
    11. Gettin' Tighter [US A-Side/Italian B-Side]
    12. Child in Time
    13. Painted Horse
    14. Mistreated [Live Edit]
    15. Bird Has Flown, The
    16. Grabsplatter - (mono)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 28132

  • Credits

    Audio Remasterer: Peter Mew.
    Liner Note Author: Simon Robinson.
    Recording information: 08/11/1969; 09/23/1970.
    Deep Purple were bombastic as hell, but as a template for the next wave of hard rock bands, the group did a pretty good job of showing how it's done, picking just the right song to cover and also writing one or two rock classics like "Smoke on the Water" to give it all credence. This two-disc set collects all the band's singles and EPs released between 1968 and 1980, and while it thins out considerably toward the end of that run, the quality here is revealing -- this band clearly bridges the British Invasion era with the harder-edged commercial rock era that came later. The huge-sounding "Hush" is here from 1968, along with a hit cover of Neil Diamond's "Kentucky Woman" from that same year, a startling re-imagining of the Beatles' "Help" from 1969, the hard-rocking "Black Night" from 1970, the sleek "Lazy" from 1972, and the massive hits "Smoke on the Water" and "Woman from Tokyo" from 1973. That's when things start to get a little less inspired, but 1976's sharp "Getting' Tighter" and a re-recorded version of "The Bird Has Flown" from a 1980 BBC session are both wonderful gems from a band that clearly knew what it was doing, and in the process cleared the road for Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, and everything that came from that. ~ Steve Leggett

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (magazine) (p.88) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[This] features early hits like 'Hush,' as well as their version of The Beatles' 'Help' and later, their rifftastic 'Smoke On The Water'..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $24.67
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for