CD Slash [Deluxe Edition] [2CD/1DVD] [Box] (CD 6975733),
back to browsing

Slash [Deluxe Edition] [2CD/1DVD] [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Ghost
    2. Crucify the Dead
    3. Beautiful Dangerouns
    4. Back from Cali
    5. Promise
    6. By the Sword
    7. Gotten
    8. Doctor Alibi
    9. Watch This - (featuring Duff McKagan)
    10. I Hold On
    11. Nothing to Say
    12. Starlight - (featuring Myles Kennedy)
    13. Saint Is a Sinner Too
    14. We're All Gonna Die - (featuring Iggy Pop)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Sahara [English]
    2. Paradise City
    3. Mother Maria
    4. Baby Can't Drive - (featuring Alice Cooper/Nicole Scherzinger)
    5. Sahara [Japanese]
    6. Beautiful Dangerous [Radio Mix] - (remix)
    7. Demo #4
    8. Demo #16
    9. Back from Cali [Acoustic] - (live)
    10. Fall to Pieces [Acoustic] - (live)
    11. Sweet Child O' Mine [Acoustic] - (live)
    12. Watch This - (live)
    13. Nightrain - (live)
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Back to Cali [Live]
    2. By the Sword [Video] - (featuring Andrew Stockdale)
    3. Starlight - (live)
    4. Mean Bone - (live)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7399

  • Credits
    ProducerEric Valentine
    EngineerEric Valentine

    Personnel: Slash (guitar); Josh Freese (drums); Leonard Castro (percussion).
    Audio Mixer: Eric Valentine .
    Photographers: P.R. Brown; Gene Kirkland.
    Like Jeff Beck before him, Slash is a superstar guitarist who can't sing a lick -- a situation that poses a considerable problem when it comes time to record a solo album, which apparently is whenever his band collapses under the preening ego of a lead singer. When combing through the wreckage of GNR he decided to form a band whose singer almost seemed like an afterthought, but he took a different route after the meltdown of Velvet Revolver, choosing to follow Santana's Supernatural blueprint, hauling in a different singer for each track. Of course, Supernatural was designed with the intention of having Santana cross over to a new audience, but Slash, with the exception of Fergie howling "Beautiful Dangerous," was made with his old fans in mind, bringing in gnarled old rockers like Ozzy, Lemmy, and Iggy to carry the brunt of the work, slipping in a few new faces -- like Andrew Stockdale of Wolfmother, Rocco DeLuca (the first signing to Kiefer Sutherland's label), and Myles Kennedy, chosen to front Slash's supporting tour for the record -- along the way. It's a comfortable and familiar fit, with the exceptions to the rule being Fergie, who winds up pushing Slash in an interesting hooky direction, and the instrumental jam between the guitarist, his GNR/Velvet bandmate Duff McKagan, and Dave Grohl. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.68) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "It's the anti-CHINESE DEMOCRACY. If Axl's masterwork was a solitary quest for perfection, Slash's solo debut is a freewheeling group hug."
    Kerrang (Magazine) (p.48) - "[L]ike so much rock 'n' roll, here the results appear to be effortless, nothing less and nothing more than the result of excellent instincts combining with exceptional talent."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.92) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]hankfully SLASH doesn't lack guts, tunes, potent solos or giant-slaying riffage."
0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Rock
  • Label: DHI 7399
  • Distributor: EMI
  • Analog/Digital: n/a
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 5099990739927
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $26.06
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for