CD Slow Dance [Anthony Phillips] (CD 875998),
back to browsing

Slow Dance [Anthony Phillips]

  • 1. Slow Dance (Part 1)
    2. Slow Dance (Part 2)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 572

  • Credits

    Personnel: Julia Allis (harp); Michael Cox (flute, piccolo); Martin Robertson (clarinet); Ian Hardwick (oboe); Tjborn Holtmark (trumpet); Ian Thomas (drums); Frank Racotti (percussion).
    Mike Oldfield, watch out. This all-instrumental album, consisting of two long pieces ("Slow Dance Parts 1 and 2") that mix new age sounds with rock, crosses into territory staked out most successfully by the tubular bell-ringer, and comes off as sort of Windham Hill with a beat. This material features clarinet, oboe, flute, trumpet, harp, and percussion as well as guitar, and it does sort of resemble the spacy synthesizer interludes and bridges found as parts of the longer pieces on Genesis's progressive-era albums. It isn't as vacuous as mere "ambient" sound, and some of the shifts in beat and tone are bracing and surprising, but Slow Dance also takes a long time to get where it's going. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.75
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for