CD Small Town England (CD 958302),
back to browsing

Small Town England

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Bitter Sweet
    2. Betcha
    3. Tension
    4. Great Expectations
    5. Waiting
    6. Christian Militia
    7. Notice Me
    8. Small Town England
    9. Liberal Education, A
    10. Vengeance
    11. Sex (The Black Angel)
    12. Running in the Rain
    13. Spirit of the Falklands
    14. Price, The
    15. 1984
    16. No Man's Land
    0. DISC 2: RADIO SESSIONS 1983-1984:
    1. Great Expectations - (live)
    2. I Wish - (live)
    3. Notice Me - (live)
    4. Liberal Education - (live)
    5. Small Town England - (live)
    6. Spirit of the Falklands - (live)
    7. Christian Militia - (live)
    8. Running in the Rain - (live)
    9. Cause, The - (live)
    10. Drag It Down - (live)
    11. Frightened - (live)
    12. Attack, The - (live)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 532

  • Credits
    ProducerRoger Pusey; Dale Griffin
    EngineerHarry Parker; Mike Engles

    Liner Note Author: Alex Ogg.
    Joining New Model Army's seminal 1984 debut, Vengeance, with a collection of tracks recorded for BBC Radio 1 around the same time, Small Town England is the ideal representation of the group's pre-Capitol/EMI output. Replete with original bassist Stuart Morrow, who gave singer/guitarist Justin Sullivan's charged anthems a dark, powerful bottom, this two-disc set chronicles a fiery post-punk band on the brink of greatness. Early singles like "Bittersweet" and "Vengeance" are preserved in all their glorious thump (thanks to merciless kitman Rob Heaton), but the real reward for diehards is in the rarely heard radio sessions. Comparing the studio versions of "Spirit of the Falklands" and "Great Expectations," the latter the band's breakthrough U.K. hit, to their rawer David Jensen and John Peel-spawned takes is exhilarating. When Sullivan barks, "I believe in getting the bastards," at a Thatcher-era radio audience, his intentions sound as pure today as they did when NMA clanged and crashed their way into our hearts. ~ John D. Luerssen

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for