CD Some Girls [Super Deluxe Edition 2CD/DVD/7"] (CD 15827666),
back to browsing

Some Girls [Super Deluxe Edition 2CD/DVD/7"]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Miss You
    2. When the Whip Comes Down
    3. Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me)
    4. Some Girls
    5. Lies
    6. Far Away Eyes
    7. Respectable
    8. Before They Make Me Run
    9. Beast of Burden
    10. Shattered
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Claudine - (previously unreleased)
    2. So Young - (previously unreleased)
    3. Do You Think I Really Care - (previously unreleased)
    4. When You're Gone - (previously unreleased)
    5. No Spare Parts - (previously unreleased)
    6. Don't Be a Stranger - (previously unreleased)
    7. We Had It All - (previously unreleased)
    8. Tallahassee Lassie - (previously unreleased)
    9. I Love You Too Much - (previously unreleased)
    10. Keep Up Blues - (previously unreleased)
    11. You Win Again - (previously unreleased)
    12. Petrol Blues - (previously unreleased)
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Beast of Burden
    2. Shattered
    3. Tumbling Dice
    4. Respectable
    5. Far Away Eyes
    6. Miss You
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Beast of Burden
    2. When the Whip Comes Down
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): B0016230-00

  • Credits

    The Rolling Stones: Mick Jagger (vocals, guitar, piano); Keith Richards (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, piano, bass); Ron Wood (acoustic & electric guitars, pedal steel guitar, bass, percussion, background vocals); Bill Wyman (synthesizer, bass); Charlie Watts (drums, percussion).
    Additional personnel: Sugar Blue (harmonica); Mel Collins (saxophone); Ian "Mac" McLagan (electric piano, Hammond organ).
    Principally recorded at E.M.I. Studios, Paris, France.
    Photographers: Lynn Goldsmith; Ken Regan; Helmut Newton.
    SOME GIRLS includes the hits "Beast Of Burden" and "Shattered," and one of the biggest-selling singles of the Stones' career, the disco-crossover "Miss You." The title track caused its share of controversy when its lyrics were attacked as sexist and racist.
    Possibly fearing the aging dinosaur label in the punk climate of 1978 New York City, SOME GIRLS rocked harder and more consistently than most Stones albums from the '70s. Revitalized by the chummy guitar dynamic between Keith Richards' impressionistic riffs and Ronnie Wood's perfectionist lead work, the album's merit is in the diversity of its tracks.
    Starting with the disco elixir of "Miss You," SOME GIRLS marked new territory for the band. As Ronnie's second album as an official member, the album showed that the Stones' sound had reworked itself, proving there was more to their dynamic than just white boy blues. The range of Ronnie's guitar work spans from the searing country lead in "Far Away Eyes" to the near-rockabilly twang in "Shattered," and finds the Stones sounding tighter and more excited than on their previous albums.
    From placing their stamp on The Temptations' "Just My Imagination" to the big-city neurosis of "When The Whip Comes Down" and "Shattered," 1978's SOME GIRLS is a wild rumpus throughout.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.75) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith Mick Jagger dishing about groupies, drugs, cops, hustlers, ex-wives, paternity suits and other joys of life in the Big Apple."
    Rolling Stone (p.75) - Ranked #3 in Rolling Stone's '10 Best Reissues Of 2011' -- "1978 original's gnarly decadence is doubled with outtakes, some with recent buffing."
    Entertainment Weekly (p.77) - "[With] stellar remastered highlights...[including] 'Miss You' and 'Beast of Burden.'"
    Magnet (p.59) - "It's the sound of the band's creative spark and musical engine, Keith Richards waking up, rejuvenated by the introduction of Ronnie Wood....It's tight, focused, lean and mean..."
    NME (Magazine) (7/9/94, p.43) - 9 - Excellent Plus - "...a sardonic collection of snotty three-chorders...that swagger, that guitar, and those drums were back..."
    Paste (magazine) - "[T]he record was both a staggering return to form and an inspired leap forward for a band generally thought to be in their twilight years of creativity."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.98) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's a genuinely-desirable salvo from the ever-rolling Stones cannon."
    Uncut (magazine) (p.98) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "Above all, SOME GIRLS teemed with the sights, sounds, distractions and energy of New York."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $88.75
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for