CD Songwriter [Box] (CD 15783617),
back to browsing

Songwriter [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Sound of Silence [Live At Webster Hall 2011], The
    2. Boxer [Live Central Park], The
    3. Bridge Over Troubled Water
    4. Mother and Child Reunion
    5. Tenderness
    6. Peace Like a River
    7. American Tune
    8. Kodachrome
    9. Something So Right
    10. Late In the Evening
    11. Train In the Distance
    12. Hearts and Bones
    13. Rene and Georgette Magritte With Their Dog After the War
    14. Still Crazy After All These Years
    15. Diamonds On the Soles of Her Shoes
    16. Boy In the Bubble, The
    17. Graceland
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Obvious Child
    2. Further To Fly
    3. Cool, Cool River, The
    4. Spirit Voices
    5. Born In Puerto Rico
    6. Quality
    7. Darling Lorraine
    8. Look At That
    9. Senorita With a Necklace of Tears
    10. That's Me
    11. Another Galaxy
    12. Father and Daughter
    13. Rewrite
    14. Love and Hard Times
    15. So Beautiful or So What
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 88697965162

  • Credits
    ProducerSteve Berkowitz (Compilation)

    Liner Note Authors: Chuck Close; Tom Moon.
    Photographers: Lynn Goldsmith; Don Hunstein; Mark Seliger; Teresa Alfieri; Yann Gamblin; Isaiah Wyner; Peggy Harper; Paul Simon; Peter Simon.
    The title makes plain the intention of Paul Simon on this 2011 double-disc set: the focus is not on the hits but the songs, to the extent that his most famous song is not performed either by him solo or with Art Garfunkel, it is sung by Aretha Franklin, a selection that suggests this compilation will be more idiosyncratic than it is. Many of the songs that are Simon's solo staples -- "Mother and Child Reunion," "Kodachrome," "American Tune," "Late in the Evening," "Still Crazy After All These Years," "Graceland," "The Boy in the Bubble" -- are here, enough to almost camouflage the big songs that are missing in action, including "50 Ways to Leave Your Lover," "Duncan," "Slip Slidin' Away," and "You Can Call Me Al." All these are casualties of a concept that allows for Simon to spend the entirety of the second disc on albums released since 1990, a move that fits the aesthetic -- there's no dip in quality -- but is sure to disgruntle listeners who only want the songs they know by heart. But there are plenty of compilations for those kind of fans; for listeners who want to get a strong overview of Simon the writer, containing many but not all of his best songs, Songwriter is a solid choice. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (magazine) (p.101) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his is the native New Yorker's own personal selection....A skein of wordy and worthy album tracks."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for