CD Stage [David Bowie] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 646295),
back to browsing

Stage [David Bowie] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Warszawa
    2. Heroes
    3. What in the World
    4. Be My Wife - (previously unreleased)
    5. Blackout
    6. Sense of Doubt
    7. Speed of Life
    8. Breaking Glass
    9. Beauty and the Beast
    10. Fame
    11. Band Intro
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Five Years
    2. Soul Love
    3. Star
    4. Hang on to Yourself
    5. Star
    6. Hang on to Yourself
    7. Ziggy Stardust
    8. Art Decade
    9. Alabama Song
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 11251

  • Credits
    ProducerDavid Bowie; Tony Visconti

    Cassettes available on Rykodisc (0144/45).
    Personnel: David Bowie (vocals, Chamberlain); Carlos Alomar (guitar); Adrian Belew (guitar, background vocals); Simon House (electric violin); Sean Mayes (piano, strings, background vocals); Roger Powell (keyboards, background vocals); George Murray (bass, background vocals); Dennis Davis (drums, percussion).
    Track 10 on disc 2 did not appear on the original release of STAGE.
    Personnel: David Bowie (vocals, chamberlin); Adrian Belew, Carlos Alomar (guitar); Simon House (electric violin); Sean Mayes (strings, piano); Roger Powell (keyboards); George Murray (bass guitar); Dennis Davis (drums, percussion).
    Emerging from his self-imposed exile in Berlin, David Bowie assembled a new band and took to the road to promote his Berlin-recorded albums, LOW and HEROES. STAGE chronicles that 1977 tour, and captures Bowie at one of the most creative periods of his career. Though STAGE was criticized for having somewhat lackluster sound when it was originally released, the remastered CD versions present a noticeable improvement over the original album.
    STAGE breaks Bowie's concert into two parts. The first CD features urgent versions of some of Bowie's best-known songs, including "Ziggy Stardust," "Fame," and "Hang On to Yourself." The second CD is devoted exclusively to the songs from LOW and HEROES. Though songs like the anthemic "Heroes" are well-suited to the live format, others, like the ominous instrumental "Warsawza" and the futuristic "Speed of Life" are not your typical concert fare. Still, Bowie performs gripping versions of these challenging tunes, and guitarist Adrian Belew is especially good on this material. While STAGE may not be the definitive Bowie live album, it offers a fascinating look at the artist as he stretches the boundaries of sound and stage for what was perhaps the last time in his career. (Note: The 2005 reissue features a different track order and two bonus tracks.)

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.81) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]he album features surprisingly aggressive and energetic versions of Bowie's most atmospheric and nonlinear material, resulting in fun for all..."
    Uncut (p.130) - 3 stars out of 5 - "The ever-diligent Visconti's now sheened the sound, and previously unreleased takes on 'Stay' and the brilliant 'Be My Wife' make it essential for Dave-freaks..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.112) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]he wonderful weave between Adrian Belew's guitar and Simon House's 'lecky violin works like a treat on the Ziggy tunes."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.73
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for