CD Stages: Performances 1970-2002 [Box] (CD 1063066),
back to browsing

Stages: Performances 1970-2002 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1: A NIGHT IN LAS VEGAS 12/27/02:
    1. Overture
    2. America
    3. Mission of Love, A
    4. Hello Again
    5. Kentucky Woman
    6. Boat That I Row
    7. Cherry, Cherry
    8. Red, Red Wine
    9. I'm a Believer
    10. Play Me
    11. Love on the Rocks
    12. Soolaimon
    13. If You Know What I Mean
    14. Beautiful Noise
    15. Girl, You'll Be a Woman Soon
    16. I Haven't Played This Song in Years
    17. You Are the Best Part of Me
    18. Forever in Blue Jeans
    0. DISC 2: A NIGHT IN LAS VEGAS 12/27/03:
    1. Starflight
    2. Captain Sunshine
    3. Holly Holy
    4. Sweet Caroline
    5. Sweet Caroline - (reprise)
    6. You Don't Bring Me Flowers
    7. Yes I Will / Lady Magdelene
    8. Shilo
    9. He Ain't Heavy... He's My Brother
    10. I Am...I Said
    11. Cracklin' Rosie
    12. Brother Love's Traveling Salvation Show
    13. America - (walk off)
    1. Lordy
    2. Brooklyn Roads
    3. Home Is a Wounded Heart
    4. Last Picasso, The
    5. Last Thing on My Mind, The
    6. You Got Me
    7. God Only Knows
    8. Lay Lady Lay
    9. Glory Road
    10. Rocket Man
    11. Say Maybe
    12. Once in a While
    13. Rainy Day Song
    14. Guitar Heaven
    15. Songs of Life
    16. Fire on the Tracks
    17. Brooklyn on a Saturday Night
    18. Primitive
    19. Story of My Life, The
    1. This Time
    2. American Popular Song, The
    3. Teach Me Tonight
    4. Dedicated to the One I Love
    5. Spanish Harlem
    6. Beatles Medley:: Golden Slumbers / Carry That Weight / The End
    7. Sweet L. A. Days
    8. Fortune of the Night
    9. Mountains of Love
    10. If There Were No Dreams
    11. All I Really Need Is You
    12. Yesterday's Songs
    13. Can Anybody Hear Me
    14. Talking Optimist Blues
    15. Everybody
    16. Marry Me
    17. In My Lifetime
    18. I Got the Feelin' (Oh No, No)
    19. Longfellow Serenade
    20. Unchained Melody
    21. I Believe in Happy Endings
    1. Oh Holy Night
    2. Silent Night
    3. White Christmas
    4. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer
    5. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
    6. Little Drummer Boy
    7. Morning Has Broken
    8. You Make It Feel Like Christmas
    9. Christmas Song, The
    10. Winter Wonderland
    11. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
    12. We Wish You a Merry Christmas
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 90540

  • Credits

    Includes a DVD disc.
    Personnel includes: Neil Diamond (vocals, guitar); Eddie Rubin, Randy Sterling, Carol Hunter, Mark Kapner, Dennis St. John, Alan Lindgren, Richard Bennett, Emory Gordy Jr., Reinie Press, Danny Nicholson, Jeffrey Kewley, Jesse Diamond, Doug Rhone, Julia Waters, Ron Tutt, Oren Waters, Art Velasco, Ralf Rickert, Larry Klimas, Don Markese.
    Compilation producers: Neil Diamond, Sam Cole.
    Recorded between 1970-2002. Includes liner notes by Laurie Viera Rigler.
    Few singers are as connected with sing-alongs as the New York City born and raised Neil Diamond. From rousing renditions at pubs to interpretations at karaoke clubs, his songs are vigorously sung from sea to shining sea. The incomparable Mr. Diamond's songs are made to be sung lustily, feverishly, with reckless abandon, and as one would predict, Neil himself sings them that way, making his live shows, concert events in the full-bodied, Tom Jones sense of the word. His shows are the ultimate in fan friendly entertainment, interspersed with wandering tales and sudden, direct connections with the crowd. This distinctly Diamond behavior was even the subject of a Saturday Night Live sketch that played in part off his stage digressions and in part off the passion in his songs, songs which sometimes wear arcane, wonderfully obtuse, and even pleadingly earnest lyrics on their sleeve.
    The box set STAGES gathers all the live Diamond any fan might desire in five audio discs and a DVD. The performances span his formative years in the early 1970s, when he channeled raw yet sweet Stax-style soul, through his ballads of the '80s and his famous Christmas caroling to two concerts from 2002. All of these performances capture the flavor, the passion, the sound bites, and the sweat of a Neil Diamond concert experience.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (1/04, p.132) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[H]is sonorous vocal power and masterful phrasing have remained intact..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $54.96
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for