CD Stop the Clocks [2-CD] (CD 4642651),
back to browsing

Stop the Clocks [2-CD]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Rock 'N' Roll Star
    2. Some Might Say
    3. Talk Tonight
    4. Lyla
    5. Importance of Being Idle, The
    6. Wonderwall
    7. Slide Away
    8. Cigarettes & Alcohol
    9. Masterplan, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Live Forever
    2. Acquiesce
    3. Supersonic
    4. Half the World Away
    5. Go Let It Out
    6. Songbird
    7. Morning Glory
    8. Champagne Supernova
    9. Don't Look Back in Anger
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 516147

  • Credits
    ProducerD. Sardy; David Batchelor; Mark "Spike" Stent; Noel Gallagher; Owen Morris; Mark Coyle

    Audio Mixers: D. Sardy; Mark "Spike" Stent; Owen Morris; Mark Coyle.
    Audio Remasterer: Ian Cooper .
    Photographers: Steve Double; Lawrence Watson.
    Although long-players like DEFINITELY MAYBE and (WHAT'S THE STORY) MORNING GLORY? are certified Britpop classics, Oasis has always been a singles band, so 2006's two-disc best-of, STOP THE CLOCKS, was a welcome arrival. Oasis has never been touted for their groundbreaking originality, but it's precisely their retro-styled concoction of irrepressible hooks and alternately chiming and roaring guitars that makes their music so appealing. STOP THE CLOCKS drives that point home and then some.
    Stretching from early gems like "Rock 'N' Roll Star" and "Live Forever" through latter period singles such as "Lyla," with the mega-hits ("Wonderwall") and B-sides sprinkled in along the way, the compilation serves to remind why the band was one of the most popular British acts of the '90s and beyond. Throughout, the towering wall of guitars, Liam Gallagher's sneering vocals, and brother Noel's impeccable songcraft create a rock template that pushes all the right pleasure buttons, and with 23 of the band's best on offer, STOP THE CLOCKS provides a lot of pleasure.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (p.129) - Ranked #10 in Q Magazine's "10 Essential Reissues Of 2006."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.124) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he experience, to be frank, is quite revelatory....Perhaps the biggest surprise is just how exciting and powerful the old chestnuts sound."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $14.37
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for