CD Supernatural [Robben Ford] [4988067040459] (CD 1264734),
back to browsing

Supernatural [Robben Ford] [4988067040459]

  • 1. Let Me In
    2. Supernatural
    3. Nothing to Nobody
    4. Water For the Wicked
    5. Don't Lose Your Faith In
    6. Hey Brother
    7. Deaf Dumb & Blind
    8. If
    9. When I Cry Today
    10. You Got Me Knockin
    11. Lovin Cup
    12. Jimmy's Dream
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): MVCB-24005

  • Credits

    Personnel: Robben Ford (vocals, guitar); Michelle Richards, Denyse Buffum, Joel Derouin, Steve Richards (strings); David Woodford (saxophone); Lee Thornburg (trumpet); Russell Ferrante (acoustic & electric pianos); Michael McDonald (piano, background vocals); Ricky Peterson (Hammond B-3 organ); Greg Kurstin (Moog & ARP synthesizers); Jimmy Earl (bass); Vinnie Colaiuta (drums); Luis Conte (percussion); Sweet Pea Atkinson, Kevin Sandbloom, Anne Kerry Ford, Julie Christensen, Perla Batalla, David Batteau (background vocals).
    Principally recorded at Sunset Sound Studios, Los Angeles, California.
    All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
    Japanese import edition includes a bonus track ("Jimmy's Dream").
    While his refined talent remains consistent, each of Robben Ford's albums are separate entities all their own. SUPERNATURAL is the guitarist's boldest venture into what can only be described as blue-eyed soul--craftily written songs that reflect Ford's blues roots, but with a sleek R&B sheen that comes across like fine satin. His guitar playing is superb, as usual; wailing, passionate solos are a result of Ford's extensive apprenticeship with many blues masters while in his teens. It is Ford's light, clear vocal style that gets the most attention, as he assumes the role of a pop songster with a soulful bent. With the help of top-flight studio players like Vinnie Colaiuta, Jimmy Earl, Russell Ferrante and Luis Conte, Ford's efforts reveal him to be an honest spokesman for quality adult-contemporary songs that aren't afraid to push the artistic envelope just a wee bit. Highlights of the disc include the gospel-flavored "Water For The Wicked," the funky "Nothing For Nobody," the acoustic ballad "If" and Paul Butterfield's "Lovin' Cup."

  • Critic Reviews
    Living Blues (1-2/00, p.101) - "...a guitar virtuoso to be reckoned with....[his] guitar playing is impeccable..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $50.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for