CD Swans Are Dead (Live '95-'97) (CD 833859),
back to browsing

Swans Are Dead (Live '95-'97)

  • 0. DISC 1: BLACK CD (FINAL TOUR 1997):
    1. Feel Happiness
    2. Low Life Form
    3. Not Alone
    4. Blood on Yr Hands
    5. Hypogirl
    6. I Crawled
    7. I Am the Sun
    8. Blood Promise
    0. DISC 2: WHITE CD (1995 TOUR):
    1. Final Sac
    2. Sound, The
    3. I See Them All Lined Up
    4. Lavender
    5. Yr Prp
    6. Yum Yab
    7. Helpless Child
    8. M/F
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 03

  • Credits
    ProducerM. Gira

    Swans: M. Gira (vocals, guitar); Jarboe (vocals, keyboards); Vudi (guitar, keyboards); Joe Goldring (guitar, bass); Clinton Steele (guitar); Phil Puleo (hammer dulcimer, percussion); Larry Mullins (vibraphone, percussion); Bill Bronson (bass).
    Additional personnel: Kris Force, Dave Quimet.
    Recorded live between 1995 and 1997.
    Perhaps fittingly, given the huge amount of live CDs and recordings put out by Swans during their lifetime and even after, this, the band's final statement, captures performances from the last two touring lineups of the band, from 1995's Great Annihilator tour (the Mullins/Vudi/Goldring lineup also featured on Die Tr ist Zu) and the last tour from 1997, featuring recent Swans stalwart guitarist Steele, Bill Bronson on bass, and ex-Cop Shoot Cop drummer Phil Puleo on skins. The two-disc set is, unsurprisingly, split between the two lineups. The 1995 disc is taken wholly from a show in Norway, mixing a variety of then-unreleased tunes (including the two lengthy stunners surfacing on Soundtracks, "Helpless Child" and "The Sound," both played fantastically here) with both solo and Swans material. The thoroughly re-worked, Jarboe-sung version of "Your Property," aka "Yrp," gets another excellent airing, while her own track "Lavender Girl" also gets quite a lovely yet disturbing run-through. The 1997 disc, collects tracks from a variety of performances during the tour. Similarly, it mixes newer songs, including Gira's lengthy, style-shifting musical retrospective on Swans, "Feel Happiness," and "New Mother," which would eventually feature in much simpler form as the title track for Gira's Angels of Light project, although here it builds into a roaring, free-form explosion, with solo selections and at times drastically reworked takes on older Swans/Skin material. Most notable are two of the final tracks: a fantastic, utterly horrifying Jarboe-sung version of "I Crawled" from the untitled 1984 EP, and "Blood Promise," originally from The Great Annihilator. Throughout both discs the audiences are loudly and happily appreciative, and understandably so -- they were watching one of the greatest bands wrap up their astonishing career with fire. ~ Ned Raggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.51
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for