CD THE TROUBLE WITH HUMANS [Chip Taylor/Carrie Rodriguez] [5016272702028] (CD 1298913),
back to browsing

THE TROUBLE WITH HUMANS [Chip Taylor/Carrie Rodriguez] [5016272702028]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): TW 020

  • Credits

    Contains an untitled hidden track following "We Come Up Shining".
    Personnel includes: Chip Taylor (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Carrie Rodriguez (vocals, fiddle); Redd Volkaert (electric guitar); Lloyd Maines (pedal steel guitar); Earl Poole Ball (electric piano); Jim Whitney (acoustic bass); Dave Mattacks (drums, percussion).
    Recorded at Rear Window, Brookline, Massachusetts; Mix One, Boston, Massachusetts and Bismeaux Studios, Austin, Texas.
    Making music is an unpredictable business. Songwriter Chip Taylor and singer Carrie Rodriguez liked the way their voices sounded together, so they decided to record Let's Leave This Town together in 2002. While the album wasn't bad, it failed to convey that magic ingredient that takes the music to the next level. The Trouble With Humans is a much more natural effort, with a lovely bare-bones production and relaxed performances by the duo. As a matter of fact, The Trouble With Humans sounds a lot like a demo that couldn't be improved on. On the title track and "I Need a Wall," both singers take things real slow, softly holding forth to the sounds of an acoustic guitar, quiet drum kit, and lonesome steel. Rodriguez's vocals are much more impressive here than on the duo's debut. Her off the cuff downhearted woman gasp hits the listener deep in the gut on "Dirty Little Texas Story," and reminds one of Lucinda Williams. Taylor's lyrics are sex-obsessed here as always, but they nonetheless sound right when he and Rodriguez harmonize together, as though the words somehow derive from their life experiences. "We Come Up Shining" is the bonus track and serves as a pleasing closer to a finely crafted album. The Trouble With Humans will convince anyone who wasn't quite sure about Let's Leave This Town to give Rodriguez and Taylor another listen. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford Jr.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (1/22/04, p.69) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Thirteen old-style duets for the twenty-first century, informed by Taylor's stream of conscious lyrics and her twangy Texas vocals..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (12/03, p.114) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[B]eautifully crafted."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.62
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for