CD Tattoos & Scars/Carrying On (CD 15815225),
back to browsing

Tattoos & Scars/Carrying On

    1. Hillbilly Shoes
    2. Trying To Survive
    3. Lonely And Gone
    4. Self Made Man
    5. Daddy Won't Sell The Farm
    6. If A Broken Heart Could Kill
    7. I've Loved A Lot More Than I've Hurt
    8. Didn't Your Mama Tell Ya'
    9. Trouble Is
    10. Tattoos & Scars
    11. All Night Long
    1. She Couldn't Change Me
    2. My Father's Son
    3. Fine Line, The
    4. Cold One Comin' On
    5. While The World Goes Down The Drain
    6. Hellbent On Saving Me
    7. Carrying On
    8. Ramblin' Man
    9. Black Jack Fletcher And Mississippi Sam
    10. Lucky To Be Here
    11. Too Hard To Handle... Too Free To Hold
    12. Tried And True
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): TBIRDAM2 024

  • Credits
    ProducerJoe Scaife
    EngineerJim Cotton; Steve Marcantonio

    Audio Mixer: Steve Marcantonio.
    Liner Note Author: Chris Bolton .
    Recording information: Dark Horse Recording; Ocean Way,The Neve Room, Nashville, TN; The Sound Kitchen.
    Photographers: Marina Chavez; Seor McGuire.
    Interestingly, T-Bird Americana releases this two-fer of Montgomery Gentry's first two albums on Sony Music Nashville on the same day as Rebels on the Run, the duo's first independent release on their Average Joe's Entertainment imprint. Tattoos & Scars was originally issued in 1999. At that time, the duo and their loud and proud electric band were among the first to attempt to resurrect the ghost of Southern rock while combining it with new tradtionalist country in a heady, testosterone-saturated stew. Given its first three singles -- "Hillbilly Shoes," "Lonely and Gone," and "Daddy Won't Sell the Farm" all charted in the Top 20 of the country charts with two more entering the Top 40 -- the duo had a winner on their hands; the album eventually went platinum. Between videos and touring, the band won themselves an enormous following right out of the gate. They followed that album with Carryin' On in 2001. Montgomery Gentry chose to showcase the modern country side of their persona with their lead-off single "She Couldn't Change Me," which peaked at number two on the country chart and entered Billboard's Hot 100 at number 37. While the second single from the record, "Cold One Comin' On," didn't chart as well, it was nonetheless well-received at radio and showcased the band's willingness to grow their music from the rough and rowdy aspects of their debut, though that side is here as well in the fine, stomping cover of Waylon Jennings' "Ramblin' Man" and the controversial rebel anthem "Carryin' On." The set was eventually certified gold and, in retrospect, is a very consistent and logical outgrowth of the sound displayed on Tattoos & Scars. Taken together, these two recordings prefigure the way Montgomery Gentry's sound has unfolded to the present day. As reissues go, these two albums arveryey well suited to one another, and certainly stand the test of time well. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $6.30
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for