CD Teen Dream (CD 6269779),
back to browsing

Teen Dream

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Zebra
    2. Silver Soul
    3. Norway
    4. Walk in the Park
    5. Used to Be
    6. Lover of Mine
    7. Better Times
    8. 10 Miles Stereo
    9. Real Love
    10. Take Care
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Used to Be
    2. Better Times
    3. Walk in the Park
    4. Zebra
    5. 10 Mile Stereo
    6. Silver Soul
    7. Lover of Mine
    8. Norway
    9. Real Love
    10. Take Care
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SPCD845

  • Credits
    ProducerChris Coady; Beach House
    EngineerChris Coady

    Audio Mixer: Chris Coady.
    Recording information: DNA Studios (07/2009); Dreamland (07/2009).
    Photographer: Frank Hamilton.
    Arranger: Beach House.
    There wasn't much room for Beach House to improve on Devotion, so instead, the duo improved the room in which they made Teen Dream. Victoria Legrand and Alex Scally recorded their Sub Pop debut in a converted church with producer/engineer Chris Coady, who has also worked with TV on the Radio and Blonde Redhead. The same dark lushness echoes through this album as those bands' works, with a spaciousness that's more like a beach mansion than a mere house (and Teen Dream's DVD of videos for each song adds to its lavishness). The slightly squalid sound quality of Beach House and Devotion had a unique charm, as if the band had to record those albums not just on the cheap, but in secret. On Teen Dream, however, the hugeness previously implied in Legrand's lyrics and luscious vocals is made real, like tuning Beach House in at their full frequency. The duo's mix of retro electronics and chiming guitars is still as dreamlike and distinctive as ever -- if anything, the tinny taps and hisses of their drum machine are even more present in Teen Dream's pristine settings, making the contrast between them and the molten slide guitars and rippling keyboards on "Norway" even more vivid. The songwriting is also more focused, using Devotion songs such as "You Came to Me" and "Heart of Chambers" as templates for the album's elegant longing. Like Teen Dream's title, these songs are wry and wise enough to know better about idealizing love, and romantic enough to still believe in it. "Zebra" positively swoons, while "Walk in the Park," with its graceful coda and chorus lament "In a matter of time/it will slip from my mind/In and out of my life/you would slip from my mind," makes losing sound beautiful, even if it's anything but a walk in the park. Despite the wintry sorrow that dominates Teen Dream and songs like "Used to Be" and "Better Times," in particular, Beach House lets a little hope into the album before it closes with "10 Mile Stereo" and "Real Love." Though it's not as eclectic and whimsical as their earlier work, Teen Dream is some of their most beautiful music, and reaffirms that they're the among the best purveyors of languidly lovelorn songs since Mazzy Star. ~ Heather Phares

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.62) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "They're more radiant than ever on their third disc, particularly on songs like 'Zebra,' with background chorales swooping over stately guitar plucking."
    Spin (p.62) - "[Their] dense-fog organs, reverb-y slide guitars, and nodding harmonies feel as lush as a midnight walk in a wet garden."
    Entertainment Weekly (p.105) - "[T]hey evolve at last, adding more variety behind Victoria Legrand's wonderfully weary vocals." -- Grade: A-
    Alternative Press (p.92) - "Their third album magnifies itself through a kaleidoscope of piano melodies and layered vocals, all reflective pop symmetry and shimmering atmosphere..."
    CMJ - "It's a winsome, convoluted reverie that seems to relish childhood innocence and imagination..."
    Billboard (p.33) - "[D]ream-pop duo Beach House continues to master its craft of producing ethereal melodies and reverberating background instrumentation on its third album..."
    Paste (magazine) (p.59) - "[The album] creates and sustains a hi-fi drowse-pop drama throughout its 10 beguiling songs....A logical and gorgeous extension of all the band's previous dreams."
    Pitchfork (Website) - "It feels like the product of careful, thoughtful growth, bringing in new influences -- bits of mid-1970s Fleetwood Mac, sparkling indie pop, even a few soul and gospel touches -- while maintaining the group's core sound."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.13
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for