CD The Anthology [Joe Cocker] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 885423),
back to browsing

The Anthology [Joe Cocker] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I'll Cry Instead
    2. Marjorine
    3. Bye Bye Blackbird
    4. Just Like a Woman
    5. Feelin' Alright
    6. Do I Still Figure in Your Life
    7. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
    8. With a Little Help from My Friends
    9. Delta Lady
    10. She Came in Through the Bathroom Window
    11. Hitchcock Railway
    12. Something
    13. Dear Landlord
    14. Darling Be Home Soon
    15. Letter, The
    16. Space Captain
    17. Honky Tonk Women
    18. Cry Me a River
    19. Let's Go Get Stoned
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Pardon Me Sir
    2. High Time We Went
    3. Black-Eyed Blues
    4. Something to Say
    5. Put Out the Light
    6. I Can Stand a Little Rain
    7. You Are So Beautiful
    8. I Think It's Going to Rain Today
    9. Jamaica, Say You Will
    10. Jealous Kind, The
    11. Catfish
    12. Song for You, A
    13. Fun Time
    14. I'm So Glad I'm Standing Here Today - (take With the Crusaders)
    15. Sweet Little Woman
    16. Many Rivers to Cross
    17. Talking Back to the Night
    18. Up Where We Belong - (from "An Officer And A Gentleman")
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 490390

  • Credits
    EngineerEddie Kramer; Henry Lewy; Alex Sadkin; Neil Case; Rob Fraboni; Baker Bigsby; Benji Armbrister; Brian Ingoldsby

    Personnel includes: Joe Cocker (vocals); Chris Stainton (guitar, piano, organ, bass); Leon Russell (guitar, piano, organ); Albert Lee, Jimmy Page, Eric Gale, Henry McCullough, Sneaky Pete Kleinow, Clarence White, Ray Parker, Cornell Dupree, Mikey Chung (guitar); Sam Rivers, Wilton Felder, Bobby Keyes, Hank Crawford, David "Fathead" Newman, Jim Horn (saxophone); Jim Price (trumpet, trombone, background vocals); David Paich, Nicky Hopkins (piano); Steve Winwood (organ); Joe Sample, Richard Tee, Wally Badarou (keyboards);
    Robbie Shakespeare, Alan Spenner, Chuck Rainey, Carl Radle (bass); Jim Gordon, Jim Keltner, Stix Hooper (drums); Rita Coolidge, Nicole Barclay, Pamela Polland, Gloria Jones, Merry Clayton, Jimmy Cliff (background vocals).
    Producers include: Leon Russell, Denny Cordell, Mike Leander, Jim Price, The
    Compilation producer: Bill Levenson.
    Recorded between 1964 and 1982. Includes liner notes by J.P. Bean.
    Digitally remastered by Theresa Malham (MCA Music Media Studios, Los Angeles,
    California) & Suha Gur (Universal Music Studios, Edison, New Jersey).
    Personnel: Clydie King, Sherlie Matthews, Matthew Moore, Rita Coolidge, Daniel Moore (vocals, background vocals); Jimmy Cliff, Robbie Shakespeare, Venetta Fields (vocals); Chris Stainton, Leon Russell (guitar, piano, organ); Clarence White, Cornell Dupree, Ralph Hammer, David Bennett Cohen, David Cohen, Dan Sawyer, Eric Gale , Henry McCullough, Jay Graydon, Jimmy Page, Adrian Belew, Albert Lee , Mikey Chung, Neil Hubbard, Sneaky Pete Kleinow, Tony Visconti, Barry Reynolds, Jim Sullivan, Cliff Goodwin, Mitch Chakour, Ben Benay (guitar); Sid Sharp (strings); Wilton Felder (saxophone); Sam Rivers (soprano saxophone); Hank Crawford, Jim Horn (alto saxophone); Gary Brown , David "Fathead" Newman , Trevor Lawrence, Bobby Keys (tenor saxophone); Leroy Cooper (baritone saxophone); Jim Price, Philip Guilbeau, Marcus Belgrave, Steve Madaio, Stewart Blumberg (trumpet); Mayo Tiana (trombone); Barry Beckett (piano, Clavinet); Richard Tee (piano, organ, keyboards); Tommy Eyre (piano, organ); David Paich, Nicky Hopkins, Artie Butler, Peggy Sandvig (piano); Matthew Fisher, Steve Winwood (organ); Joe Sample, Wally Badarou (keyboards); Steve Gadd , Chuck Blackwell (drums, percussion); Paul Humphries, Kenny Slade, Jeff Porcaro, Jim Gordon , Jim Keltner, Mike Kellie, Ollie E. Brown, Sly Dunbar, Stix Hooper, B.J. Wilson, Bernard "Pretty" Purdie, John Riley , Clem Cattini, Joe Correro, Bruce Rowland (drums); Flaco, Bobby Torres (congas); Mike Holland, Milt Holland, Sanford Konikoff, Uziah "Sticky" Thompson (percussion); Beverley Gardner, Donna Weiss, Virginia Ayers, Sunny Weetman, Claudia Linnear, Bobby Lee Jones, Ann Lang, Madeline Bell, Merry Clayton, Monalisa Young, Pamela Polland, Patrice Holloway, The Ivy League, Viola Wills, Bonnie Bramlett, Rosetta Hightower, Donna Washburn, Nickey Barclay, Brenda Holloway (background vocals).
    Audio Mixers: Tony Visconti; Barry Beckett.
    Audio Remixer: Glyn Johns.
    Recording information: A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); Compass Point Studios, Nassau, Bahamas (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); Criteria Recording Studios, Miami, FL (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); Decca Studios, West Hampstead, London, England (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); Dynamic Sound Studio, Kingston, Jamaica (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); Fillmore East, NY (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); Island Studios, London, England (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); Muscle Shoals Studios, Sheffield, AL (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); Olympic Studios, London, England (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); Sunset Sound Studios (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); The Village Recorder, Los Angeles, CA (07/24/1964-??/??/1977); Trident Studios, London, England (07/24/1964-??/??/1977).
    Photographers: Jim McCrary; Randy Alpert; Tony Friedkin; Tony Esparza; Suzanne Ayres.
    Arrangers: Chris Stainton; Eric Gale ; Leon Russell; Richard Tee; Rob Fraboni; The Grease Band.
    An all but perfect greatest hits album covering the gruff voiced bluesman's career through the early '80s. All of his hits and best known songs are here, but there are also a lot of interesting lesser known tracks, beginning with the first--a 1964 rockabillyish take on the Beatles' "I'll Cry Instead" (featuring a young Jimmy Page on guitar) in which the singer is almost unrecognizable. Also notable are a gut-wrenching reworking of the Animals "Please Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood" (a song that fits Cocker like a glove) and the wry "Catfish," Bob Dylan's apparently heartfelt paean to the legendary pitcher.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.53
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for