CD The Best of Suede [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 6985469),
back to browsing

The Best of Suede [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Animal Nitrate
    2. Beautiful Ones
    3. Trash
    4. Filmstar
    5. Metal Mickey
    6. New Generation
    7. So Young
    8. Wild Ones, The
    9. Drowners, The
    10. Stay Together
    11. Lazy
    12. Everything Will Flow
    13. We Are the Pigs
    14. Can't Get Enough
    15. Electricity
    16. Obsessions
    17. She's in Fashion
    18. Saturday Night
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Pantomime Horse
    2. My Insatiable One
    3. Killing of a Flashboy
    4. This Hollywood Life
    5. Europe Is Our Playground
    6. My Dark Star
    7. Sleeping Pills
    8. By the Sea
    9. She
    10. Heroine
    11. Living Dead, The
    12. To the Birds
    13. Big Time, The
    14. Two of Us, The
    15. Asphalt World, The
    16. Still Life
    17. Next Life, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SUECD01

  • Credits

    Personnel: Brett Anderson (vocals); Bernard Butler (guitar, piano); Neil Codling (guitar, keyboards); Richard Oakes, Alex Lee (guitar); Mat Osman (electric bass); Simon Gilbert (drums).
    Audio Remasterer: Chris Potter .
    Liner Note Author: Martin Aston.
    Photographers: Paul Khera; Stefan de Batselier; Donald Christie; John Cheves; Mitch Ikeda; Kevin Cummins; Ed Sirrs; Stefan Mssigbrodt; Andy Catlin; Tom Sheehan.
    Unlike Suede's previous comp The Singles, 2010's The Best of Suede doesn't purport to include all the band's A-sides. Instead, it's a good, old-fashioned "best of," a cherrypicking of the group's greatest cuts conducted by Brett Anderson himself. Unlike some artists, Anderson shows a keen ear for the band's very best, selecting the same singles, B-sides, and album tracks their devotees would, downplaying the band's slow fade in favor of their first three albums and accompanying singles. The Best of Suede doesn't follow a strict chronological sequence -- occasionally tunes from the same album are grouped together, as when a clutch of Dog Man Star epics close the 35-track set -- but Anderson manages to give this double-disc set an elegant flow that showcases Suede in all their tragic romantic glory. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Clash (magazine) - "[T]hese songs -- 'Animal Nitrate', 'The Wild Ones', 'Beautiful Ones' -- still sound as vital and invigorating as the first time you heard them."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.96) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his set collects some of the finest moments of 90s British indie..."
    Uncut (magazine) (p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A]s well as the adolescent frenzy, there was a yearning quality in Butler's playing that stirred Anderson to the band's highpoint, 'The Wild Ones'..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $14.55
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for