CD The Collection [RCA Legacy] (CD 1074654),
back to browsing

The Collection [RCA Legacy]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Love of the Common People, The
    2. Catch Another Butterfly
    3. Daydream
    4. Ballad of Spiro Agnew, The
    5. Circus
    6. When I'm Sixty-Four
    7. Ballad of Richard Nixon, The
    8. Rhymes & Reasons
    9. Yellow Cat
    10. Leaving on a Jet Plane
    11. My Heart, (You Dun Stomped)
    12. My Old Man
    13. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
    14. Today Is the First Day of the Rest of My Life (Sugacity)
    15. Rusty Green - (bonus track)
    16. Take Me to Tomorrow - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Rocky Mountain High
    2. Mother Nature's Son
    3. Paradise
    4. For Baby (For Bobbie)
    5. Darcy Farrow
    6. Prisoners
    7. Goodbye Again
    8. Summer
    9. Fall
    10. Winter
    11. Late Winter, Early Spring (When Everybody Goes to Mexico)
    12. Spring
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Poems, Prayers and Promises
    2. Let It Be
    3. My Sweet Lady
    4. Wooden Indian
    5. Junk
    6. Gospel Changes
    7. Take Me Home, Country Roads
    8. I Guess He'd Rather Be in Colorado
    9. Sunshine on My Shoulders
    10. Around and Around
    11. Fire and Rain
    12. Box, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 83372

  • Credits
    ProducerMilton Okun; Bob Irwin (Reissue)

    Personnel: John Denver (vocals, guitar); Paul Prestopino (guitar, mandolin); Russ Savakus (violin, bass guitar); Max Pollikoff (violin); George Marge (flute, English horn, baritone saxophone); Marvin Stamm (flute, trumpet); Ray Alonze (French horn); Stan Free, Paul Griffin (piano, organ); Richard Romoff (bass guitar); Todd Sommer, Herb Lovelle (drums).
    Arrangers: Dick Kniss; Mike Taylor .
    RCA/Legacy's John Denver Collection gives the initial impression of a meticulously packaged anthology, when in reality it's merely a slapdash repackaging of three of the legendary country artist's early albums. Of his 1969 debut Rhymes & Reasons, 1971's Poems, Prayers & Promises and 1972's Rocky Mountain High, only the first one is remastered, while the other two are the same mid-quality (no liner notes or remastering) releases that have hogged cut-out bins for decades. Fans looking for a solid overview of the artists' career would be better off picking up 2004's excellent Definitive All-Time Greatest Hits. ~ James Christopher Monger

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $25.58
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for