CD The Crucial Collection (CD 1170514),
back to browsing

The Crucial Collection

  • 1. He Bit Me
    2. I Can't Today, I'm on Duty
    3. Call Off Your Lapdog
    4. Guys, I Need a Helicopter
    5. Come on, Were Talking About You Here
    6. Whose Ship Is This?
    7. Oh, the Things I'm Gonna Do for My Country
    8. Variations on a Theme (Guys, I Need a Helicopter)
    9. Math Is Everywhere
    10. I Meant Pushups
    11. Me and My Dad Built Her - (Remix, remix)
    12. You Ever Get Punched in the Face for Talking Too Much? - (Remix, History Invades remix)
    13. You Come into My House, While I Sleep? - (Remix, Chris Rucker remix)
    14. Done and Done - (Remix, The Dark Romantics remix)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 57

  • Credits
    EngineerMatt Agrella

    Look Mexico: Matt Agrella, Joshua Mikel, Ryan Slate, Tyson Kuhlhoff.
    Personnel: Matt Agrella (trumpet, trombone, marimba, percussion); Ryan Slate (piano).
    Audio Remixers: Dean Paul; Christoph Rcker; Eric Collins.
    Recording information: Bit X Byt Studios, Winter Haven, FL; F.S.U. World Music Hall; Scoots; The Whale Studios; Warp Zone, Tallahassee, FL.
    Prior to the release of 2007's full-length debut This Is Animal Music, Tallahassee indie rockers Look Mexico released a pair of EPs, 2005's So Byzantine and 2006's Crucial, which are gathered here alongside a number of alternative versions and remixes of songs from the album, as well as a pair of otherwise hard to find tracks. As the number of songs that appear on both the EPs and the debut full-length attest, there was no major change in musical direction between the EPs and the album: This Is Animal Music is basically a better-sounding and slightly more polished version of the EPs' blend of Minus the Bear-style whimsy, post-rocky technical facility, and emo-tinged indie rock earnestness. Similarly, the three alternate versions of album tracks at the collection's end -- "Done and Done," "You Ever Get Punched in the Face for Talking Too Much?," and "You Come into My House, While I Sleep?" -- are not radical revisions so much as they're minor tweaks. Oddly, despite its relatively brief running time and claims of definitiveness, The Crucial Collection is not entirely complete: two of the six tracks from So Byzantine, "Comin' in Hot with a Side of Bacon" and a brief early version of the album's "I Had a Wrench, and I Hit Him," are missing. Crucial? Only for the diehard, particularly since both EPs are available through various online services in their original form. But it's a handy one-stop discography builder for the minor fan. ~ Stewart Mason

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for