CD The Emitt Rhodes Recordings 1969-1973 [Digipak] * (CD 6667472),
back to browsing

The Emitt Rhodes Recordings 1969-1973 [Digipak] *

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mother Earth
    2. Pardon Me
    3. Textile Factory
    4. Someone Died
    5. Come Ride, Come Ride
    6. Let's All Sing
    7. Holly Park
    8. Saturday Night
    9. You're a Very Lovely Woman
    10. Mary Will You Take My Hand
    11. Man He Was, The
    12. In the Days of the Old
    13. 'Til the Day After
    14. With My Face on the Floor
    15. Somebody Made for Me
    16. She's Such a Beauty
    17. Long Time No See
    18. Lullabye
    19. Fresh as a Daisy
    20. Live Till You Die
    21. Promises I've Made
    22. You Take the Dark Out of the Night
    23. You Should Be Ashamed
    24. Ever Find Yourself Running
    25. You Must Have
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Birthday Lady
    2. Better Side of Life
    3. My Love Is Strong
    4. Side We Seldom Show
    5. Mirror
    6. Really Wanted You
    7. Medley: Bubble Gum the Blues/I'm a Cruiser
    8. Love Will Stone You
    9. Golden Child of God
    10. Take You Far Away
    11. Warm Self-Sacrifice
    12. See No Evil
    13. Drawn to You
    14. Blue Horizon
    15. Shoot the Moon
    16. Only Lovers Decide
    17. Trust One More
    18. Nights Are Lonely
    19. Bad Man
    20. In Desperate Need
    21. Those That Die [From Tame the Lion]
    22. Farewell to Paradise
    23. Tame the Lion
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 001292602

  • Credits
    ProducerHarvey Bruce; Peter Pilafian; Emmit Rhodes; Larry Marks; Peter Pilafian; Emmit Rhodes; Harvey Bruce; Larry Marks; Bill Levenson (Compilation)
    EngineerEmmit Rhodes; Curt Boettcher; Emmit Rhodes; Keith Olsen

    Personnel: Emitt Rhodes (vocals, various instruments); Emil Radocchia, James Leitch, Gary Kato, Dom Peak, Chuck Berghoffer, Bill Rheinhart, David Cohen, Don Randi, Drake Levin, Hal Blaine, Joel Larson, Jim Gordon , Joe Porcaro, John Guerin, Larry Knechtel, Lyle Ritz, Pete Jolly, Tom Reynolds, Michael Rice.
    Audio Mixer: Keith Olsen .
    Liner Note Authors: Lance Freed; Scott Schinder.
    Author: Emitt Rhodes.
    Photographers: Jim McCrary; Ed Caraeff; Andrew Sackheim.
    Arrangers: Emitt Rhodes; Ian Freebairn-Smith; Bob Thompson ; Larry Marks; Perry Botkin, Jr.; Bob Thompson .
    THE EMITT RHODES RECORDINGS 1969-1973 collects all four albums the singer/songwriter/musical wiz recorded over that period of time and adds one extra track (the 1973 single "Tame the Lion"). The set starts off with the album Rhodes recorded after his band, the Merry-Go-Round, broke up in 1969. The songs are a mix of newly written ones and Merry-Go-Round leftovers recorded with studio pros filling in for the band. But it is his actual debut, 1970's EMMITT RHODES, that is the best of the bunch; in fact, it is one of the best pop records of the '70s, and sounds like what would have happened had Paul McCartney saved up his most emotionally powerful and melodically rich post-Beatles' songs and recorded them with Badfinger as his backing band. Each song sounds like it should have been a hit single, from the heart-breakingly direct "Long Time No See" or the deceptively jubilant breakup song "With My Face on the Floor," to the anthemic George Harrison-esque "Live Till You Die" or the rollicking "Fresh as a Daisy." The pacing, sound, and feel of the record are as near perfect as you could hope, and the most impressive feat is that Rhodes did everything on the record himself.
    His next album, 1971's MIRROR, repeats the same basic formula as EMITT RHODES but has fewer knockout songs, and there are some hard rock (on the title track) and blues (on "I'm a Cruiser") influences creeping in around the edges and scuffing up the perfect pop. By the time of FAREWELL TO PARADISE, though, the twin factors of pressure from the record company and Rhodes' increasing perfectionism led to his recording a melancholy, downhearted album that has far less pop and far more introspection in its soul. Hearing it in context of his previous work shows just how much Rhodes had begun to change, and it makes it even more of a loss that Rhodes basically walked away from his career at the age of 24. THE EMITT RHODES RECORDINGS 1969-1973 is essential to any fan of late-'60s/early-'70s pop music and hats off to Hip-O Select for giving Rhodes the attention he deserves.

  • Critic Reviews
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.90) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[His self-titled album] stands up as a veritable tour de force of melodic, consummately-crafted Paul McCarney-esque pop..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $28.15
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for