CD The Essential Barry Manilow [828766822724] (CD 1071449),
back to browsing

The Essential Barry Manilow [828766822724]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mandy
    2. It's a Miracle
    3. Could It Be Magic
    4. I Write the Songs
    5. Bandstand Boogie
    6. Tryin' to Get the Feeling Again
    7. Beautiful Music
    8. This One's for You
    9. Weekend in New England
    10. Jump Shout Boogie
    11. Looks Like We Made It
    12. Daybreak - (live, live)
    13. New York City Rhythm - (live, live)
    14. Can't Smile Without You
    15. Even Now
    16. Copacabana (At the Copa)
    17. Ready to Take a Chance Again
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Somewhere in the Night
    2. Ships
    3. When I Wanted You
    4. I Don't Want to Walk Without You
    5. One Voice
    6. I Made It Through the Rain
    7. Lonely Together
    8. Old Songs, The
    9. Somewhere Down the Road
    10. Memory
    11. Some Kind of Friend
    12. Read 'Em and Weep
    13. When October Goes
    14. I'm Your Man - (Club Mix)
    15. Brooklyn Blues
    16. Hey Mambo
    17. I'd Really Love to See You Tonight - (Uptempo Mix)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 68227

  • Credits
    ProducerBarry Manilow; Eddie Arkin; Howie Rice; Jim Steinman; Ron Dante; Tony Moran; Al Quaglieri (Compilation)
    EngineerMaria Triana; Woody Pornpitaksuk

    Personnel: Barry Manilow (vocals); Kid Creole & the Coconuts.
    Recording information: Sony Music Studios, NY.
    Photographers: Herb Ritts; Firooz Zahedi; Lance Staedler.
    Even those who find Barry Manilow's music cringe-worthy are likely to know the chorus to "I Write the Songs," or to recognize the opening bars of "Mandy." That's because Manilow held serious sway over the pop and adult contemporary charts throughout the '70s, ratcheting up an amazing string of hits, most of which became staples of the soft rock canon. It cannot be denied that Manilow is a talented tunesmith capable of crafting powerful melodies, both melancholic and jubilant; and he parlayed this talent into a hugely successful recording and performing career lasting well into the 2000s.
    Arista has followed up the blockbuster sales of 2002's ULTIMATE MANILOW by issuing an expanded, two-disc greatest hits compilation dubbed THE ESSENTIAL. Naturally, the mega-hits--"Mandy," "I Write the Songs," "Looks Like We Made It," and the disco anthem "Copacabana"--are here, but there is plenty of fine material spread out over these 34 tracks, including energetic show stoppers from his 1977 live album. Disc two concentrates on the performer's output from the '80s, including forays into lounge jazz ("When October Goes") and swing ("Hey Mambo"). This is a whole lot of Manilow, and should satisfy anyone looking for a comprehensive overview of the singer-songwriter's best material.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.89
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for