CD The Essential Byrds [CD] [1 disc] (CD 7006363),
back to browsing

The Essential Byrds [CD] [1 disc]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mr. Tambourine Man
    2. I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better
    3. All I Really Want To Do
    4. Bells Of Rhymney, The
    5. Chimes Of Freedom
    6. Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season) - (mono)
    7. She Don't Care About Time [Single Version] - (mono)
    8. It Won't Be Wrong
    9. Lay Down Your Weary Tune
    10. Set You Free This Time
    11. He Was A Friend Of Mine - (mono)
    12. Times They Are A-Changin, The - (mono)
    13. Eight Miles High
    14. 5D (Fifth Dimension)
    15. Wild Mountain Thyme
    16. Mr. Spaceman
    17. So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star
    18. Have You Seen Her Face
    19. Time Between
    20. Renaissance Fair
    21. My Back Pages
    22. Everybody's Been Burned [Single Version]
    23. Triad
    24. Dolphin's Smile
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Artificial Energy
    2. Old John Robertson [Single Version]
    3. Goin' Back
    4. Natural Harmony
    5. Wasn't Born To Follow
    6. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
    7. Hickory Wind
    8. Nothing Was Delivered
    9. This Wheel's On Fire
    10. Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man
    11. Your Gentle Way Of Loving Me
    12. Ballad Of Easy Rider
    13. Jesus Is Just Alright
    14. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue [Alternate Mix] - (remix, alternate take)
    15. Lover Of The Bayou - (live)
    16. Chestnut Mare
    17. Glory, Glory
    18. Jamaica Say You Will
    19. I Wanna Grow Up To Be A Politician
    20. Tiffany Queen
    21. Antique Sandy
    22. Farther Along
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 831882

  • Credits

    The Byrds include: Roger McGuinn, David Crosby, Gram Parsons, Clarence White (vocals, guitar); Chris Hillman (vocals, bass); Gene Clark (vocals); Michael Clarke, Gene Parsons (drums).
    Producers include: Terry Melcher, Allen Stanton, Gary Usher, Bob Johnston, Jim Dickson.
    Compilation producer: Bob Irwin.
    Recorded between 1965 & 1971. Includes liner notes by Alan Bisbort.
    While the all-killer no-filler single-disc The Byrds' Greatest Hits remains the best distillation of their classic songs, The Essential Byrds is a smartly assembled double dose, including all 14 of the 1965-1967 tracks on Greatest Hits, but expanding its reach into their entire Columbia output, going as far as the early '70s. Inevitably, that means that disc two -- which goes, roughly, from mid-1967 to 1971 -- isn't as good as the first half, and that the last four tracks in particular are by far the least impressive, tagged on mostly so that the release spans the Byrds' entire Columbia catalog. That's a small reservation considering that the two-fer adds many first-rate songs not on Greatest Hits, from non-hit singles like "Lady Friend" and "Goin' Back" to standout album cuts like "Renaissance Fair," "Natural Harmony," "Jesus Is Just Alright," and "Chestnut Mare." There are no surprises here; even the songs that eluded inclusion on albums for many years, like the early B-side "She Don't Care About Time" and "Lady Friend," have been commonly available in the CD era. And it's true that this misses some other fine album tracks that could have stood with pride alongside those selected, like "I Knew I'd Want You," "John Riley," and "Dolphin's Smile." Within the confines of the two-CD format, though, it's a very well-chosen career overview. [The 2011 3.0 edition adds a third disc with six additional tracks: "Spanish Harlem Incident," "I Knew I'd Want You," "The World Turns All Around Her," "I See You," "Change Is Now," and "One Hundred Years from Now."] ~ Richie Unterberger

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.126) - 5 stars out of 5 - "[T]he 44 tracks cover just about every important nook and cranny of The Byrds' illustrious career..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.22
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for